Vietnam BABY!!


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » South Central Coast » Khanh Hoa » Nha Trang
July 11th 2006
Published: July 11th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Cu Chi TunnelsCu Chi TunnelsCu Chi Tunnels

Yeah... they are pretty small
Hey guys... man it's been a while. Where do I start...

Made it to Ho Chi Min city (aka Saigon) earlier this week. I had very good experiences there... the people that ran my guesthouse were very kind - they took me out for Vietnamese food every night! And one night the daughter took me, two Canadian boys and a English guy to a club.... it was pretty cool, until it closed down at 12:30!! We were just getting started, but oh well.

Saw the Cu Chi tunnels just outside of HCMC too... the real ones were amazing. They has some that they widened for tourists, and I was getting a little anxious in those... I can't imagine living in those. Nobody should have to do that.

After three days in Saigon, went to Mui Ne. It wasn't really what I expected, and it was really rainy, so I only spent a day there. But I did get up at 4:30am to see the sun rise over the red sand dunes. I also went to the white sand dunes, a fishing village and a waterfall. I then got back to the hotel, took a shower and got on
TrapsTrapsTraps

You've probably seen these on TV... or on "The Beach"
the bus to Nha Trang. I'll post some pics when I find a computer with USB.

Nha Trang is awesome. I finally found some SUN! They have a great beach and nice chairs that you can rent. I also found a really great hotel... it's really clean, quiet and safe, so I'm happy.

I'm thinking of heading to Jungle Beach next (a beach resort ran by a French Canadian, so I hear) or to Hoi An. Then it's up to Hanoi, Halong Bay and Sapa! So much to do and I have less than three weeks. And all I want to do is lay on the beach!

Miss you all lots! Take care! Love,

Raylene


Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

Someone's ButtSomeone's Butt
Someone's Butt

Crawling through the enlarged, "tourist" version of the tunnels
Ho Chi MIn CityHo Chi MIn City
Ho Chi MIn City

The view from the top of my guesthouse
Mu NieMu Nie
Mu Nie

My guesthouse/resort on the beach (only stayed here for one night though)
Playing in the waterPlaying in the water
Playing in the water

The guesthouse was near the fishing village. These boys were very excited to practice their English skills on me!
Arriving for the sunrise at the red sand dunesArriving for the sunrise at the red sand dunes
Arriving for the sunrise at the red sand dunes

About 10 Vietnamese children followed us up the dunes with sleds. One of them took my camera and got some really good shots, actually.
Waiting...Waiting...
Waiting...

Me, Natasha (a really sweet girl we met on our bus), and Eugene (an English guy I traveled with for a while)
StunningStunning
Stunning

Watching the sun rise was stunning... better in real life than in these pictures, I assure you!
White Sand DunesWhite Sand Dunes
White Sand Dunes

You can't really tell that they are white here, but it's a nice pic
OasisOasis
Oasis

In the middle of the dunes...
Red CanyonRed Canyon
Red Canyon

It looks like rock, but it's actually sand!
Fishing VillageFishing Village
Fishing Village

I'm sure I'll see plenty more of these up north
BoatsBoats
Boats

Used to shuttle the fishermen and thier catch from the main fishing boat to shore
Waterfall TrekWaterfall Trek
Waterfall Trek

Three Vietnamese boys were our guides for the trip
Nha TrangNha Trang
Nha Trang

Finally... I found some sun!


14th July 2006

sledding
Okay, so yesterday I got your postcard...get this: it's the first time I ever received one!! Sounds like you're having a blast there! Who woulda thought that you could actually go sledding in Thailand? Have a good one!
19th July 2006

Wow -- It looks like you going too fast!
Wow, I'm impressed with the pictures. It looks like you are going faster than you did when sledding on the snow when you were small. Imagine, they probably can go sledding all year long. Love, Mom
28th July 2006

your carving skillz!
So apparently there's sand "boarding" and "skiing" here in Australia too... But I think I'd rather just stick to surfing and get a mouth full of salt water when I wipe out... Party on Raylene!
30th July 2006

wow
Im glad you're having such a good time and Im excited that you're coming back soon. Me and Chantal are already planning our breakfast date. Take Care. Susan P.S. How come I didnt get a post card?? :(

Tot: 0.959s; Tpl: 0.1s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.1087s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb