Day 8 Trang An Caves


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Red River Delta » Ninh Binh » Tam Coc
July 29th 2012
Published: July 29th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Day 8
Today is another free day as it is Sunday. There were two choices that we came up with; some wanted to swim in a pool at a local hotel, and some didn't. I was with the ' did nots' as I felt, although I could seriously just dive into a lovely clean blue pool, I also think there is more to see, and I would rather do it whilst I have the chance.

After breakfast the 'poolers' set off. The other group, which were; Amberlee, Roisin, Britty, Nadia and myself, hired bikes to go to Trang An caves/ grottos. The bike ride there took us through small typical Vietnamese villages. Most of the locals are very friendly and pleased to shout, hello, as we pass by. Some are obviously aware of the paleness of our skin and cultural differences; they show it by pointing. We passed lots of rice plants laid in the middle of the paths/roads. This is done so that passing people and bikes will thrash over the plants as it dries in the sun to release the rice from the plants.

At Trang An we found the very popular tourist attraction. The Trang An caves. This whole experience was very similar to the Tam Coc river ride through the caves, yet different. The caves at Trang An took much longer to travel through, and there were many more of them. We saw various temples on the route as we made our way through the caves. I was surprised that these caves have had electricity run through them, although this is a typical man made attraction extra; it really did help us to appreciate the magnificence of the caves.

The scenery all around us was just consistently stunning. There are lots of goldfish in the river which swim freely as you pass. We also saw buffalo bathing in the side of the river. On our way back into Tam Coc we stopped off at the Lotterei, which is a Vietnamese style 'McDonald's', I had my first ice cream of the holiday.....and loved it!

I am now back in my room, watching over the balcony at the busy market whilst I am snacking on chocolate Oreos and really cold water. This is my filler until dinner later tonight. All of this cyclinghis hard work, whilst at the same time, it is a fun way to get around, and I am sure it is doing me the world of good!

A good meal at Duc Linh tonight, everyone took advantage of the speciality chocolate bananas! Nadia gave Ng yin (we think) a book for her new baby....awwww, that was nice, she was well chuffed! Thank you Nadia for more bartering skills tonight.


Additional photos below
Photos: 36, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



6th February 2013
UploadedFile38

you are the me
i very thank
6th February 2013

you are still remember me? me much you want more people know what to DUCLINHFOODS at TAM COC much you want the you can say more about we of the community and books guide thanks !see you

Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 19; dbt: 0.0305s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb