Things That Go Bump (And Squeak) In The Night


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Red River Delta » Hanoi
June 16th 2006
Published: June 16th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I know it's been a long time, but work is VERY busy. Which is good, but, well, busy...

I'm exhausted at the end of every day, then stagger the 84 steps up to my room (no house yet!)

Last night I was woken up by the Saint-Bernard-sized RAT that has moved into my room. Then I was woken up by a really bad calf cramp. Finally, I was woken up by thousands of ants in my bed, biting me with their tiny teeth.

When I tried to have a shower this morning to wash off all the ant carcasses stuck to me, I had no water...

Honestly, it is difficult to project an air of professionalism at work after such an evening...

But the good news is that it is Friday. Which means two glorious days of No-Work, and, even better, three nights away from my hotel!! I am going on a holiday la la la.

I'm going to Sapa, which is up in the mountains near the Chinese border. It is supposed to be tres beautiful. The 10-hour train leaves tonight, and arrives in Sapa tomorrow morning. Then I'll have two days there, and get the train back on Sunday night. I arrive in Hanoi at 5am on Monday, then go to work for the day!!! I do question the quality of work that I will achieve that day...

It'll be great to get out of the city for a bit, and just to go somewhere else - I can't believe it, but I've been here for a month now!! Is one of those 'feels like shorter'/'feels like longer' scenarios...

I'm at work now. Everyone is sleeping downstairs, but I just can't get used to this sleeping-at-work thing - well not sanctioned sleeping-at-work, anyway...

I have to turn a 49-page document into a 1-page summary now. Grooooooan.

Hope all is well!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0343s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb