Sightseeing in Hanoi


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Red River Delta » Hanoi
June 20th 2009
Published: June 28th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Woke up sweating at 9am, wish I had a room with AC. It was about 30 degrees in my room and soo humid.

Today was to be a very expensive day, with high entry prices at all the tourist sites I visited, oh well.

Firstly I walked to the Temple of Literature. It was really pretty gardens, ponds and houses. It was the first university in Hanoi according to a guide I overheard. The temperature crept up and up.

Outside I had my first sugar cane drink which was really good and very sweet (funny that being pure sugar)

I walked a few km towards the Ho Chi Minh Mausoleum complex, which was closed. I went into the museum, which wasn’t really my kind-of museum to put it politely. but they did have AC. I walked around the gardens and saw the beautiful Pagoda which was FREE! Shock something that’s actually free! I visited the House on stilts where the old leader would stay.

Met some Irish girls and shared a taxi back to the Old Market area, where the hotels were and went and saw the Jade mountain temple. It was very hot by then and it was too late to help my burnt shoulders. Woops should have known better.

When I got back to my room I had 2 huge wasps flying around. I had to get help to get them out, as there was no way I was risking getting stung by these things they were huge. Please see pict




Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

Temple of LiteratureTemple of Literature
Temple of Literature

Inside the gardens
Sugar caneSugar cane
Sugar cane

yummy sugar drink outside the ToL
PagodaPagoda
Pagoda

Near Mossuleum
MossuleumMossuleum
Mossuleum

Where a leaders body remains embalmed
I had 2 of these in my roomI had 2 of these in my room
I had 2 of these in my room

Please note this is not my hand


30th June 2009

Wasp!
Argh! I hate wasps at the best time but this one is scary!!!!!!

Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0673s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb