Vietnam!


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Red River Delta » Hanoi
February 2nd 2006
Published: February 2nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

LimousineLimousineLimousine

This is a shot of the street below our hostel balcony. A string of cyclos (bike carriages)riding by.
Holy crap I considered bailing out of the plane about halfway across the Pacific Ocean. That ride was torture....but well worth it! From what I've seen so far Vietnam is an awesome country. I met up with Lindsay and Emily at the airport in Hanoi (thank god or I would have been totally lost) and we came straight to the hostel we're staying at. It's really cool, a dorm with 12 beds a couple floors up. I paid 5 bucks to stay 2 nights! The weather here right now is perfect. Any hotter and the humidity would kill me. I can't believe what you can get for a dollar here. The coolest part about yesterday was getting a ride on the back of a moped to our hostel when we got kinda lost. It cost us about 80 cents each I think.
The people here are real friendly and for a city of about 3.5 million you sure feel safe. And of course (my buddies will be wondering) the asian girls are beautiful. Yesterday we stopped for a pop at a cafe and the shopkeeper was a nice old guy named Ngyha who decided we should try some of his rice wine. It was actually not bad so we finished off the bottle with him.
The traffic here is like you'd never seen...a steady stream of mopeds and the odd car or pedal carriage. It's anarchy on the roads. Makes Mexico look organized.
Well today we're going to check out the Ho Chi Minh mausoleum (did I spell that right?) Ho Chi Minh is the famous leader that freed the Vietnamese and everyone here loves him. So we're going to check out his embalmed body. Kinda creepy? Yeah I know.
Tiger Beer is awesome, I'll bring some home for sure!

Advertisement



2nd February 2006

sounds awesome so far! can't wait till u come home!
2nd February 2006

Wow!
Hey Scott, That's so awesome!!! It sounds like you are going to have a super great time, i'm checking your blog every few days because i've decided i need to live through you, your life is so exciting these days!! You're going to have so much fun!!! Love ya bud, keep posting!!
2nd February 2006

I'm so glad you made it safely
I've been kinda stressin out cause there's been no word from you till today, I am oblivious as to how long flights take. BUT am so glad you are safe. Sounds like you are having a blast and i can clearly see in my mind the wide eyed, wide grinning expressions on your face. I'm sooooo glad you took this trip. I want you to check out the DMZ at the shores of the Ben Hai River ( i think )for me, cause it is something i would like to check out and may never get the chance too, this way you can tell me if it's kewl or if i'm just lame ( i've got a thing for tunnels, weird? yes!). Then you can tell me all about it and i can live vicariously through your word pictures, he he. anyways love i'm glad your safe, take care of yourself and keep us all updated! Love Always, blair
3rd February 2006

Hey!
Good to hear that you are having a great time! I can only imagine how much fun you are having while I sit here at school... actually that is a lie because I just got home from the bar..so that was equally fun! haha Anyways.. hope to talk to you soon, and try and behave yourself...haha ya right~! Check Ya later!
3rd February 2006

So happy for you!
Scott, I am so so so happy for you! I hope that you are having a blast, knowing you I know that you will have a blast where ever you are. This is my first time checking your little Travel Blog thing out...sorry...Well keep me posted, and please don't do anything that I wouldn't do...so basically do everything you can! Love You have fun!
4th February 2006

Other Blogg
yo man dont worry about the other blog. I will just keep it upto date for you.
4th February 2006

Frappr Map
Yo, i got it all updated. even the frappr map on the where am i link is there. later
6th February 2006

Party on!!!!
7th February 2006

UFC
Fuck ya UFC was not that great. but liddell won
9th February 2006

Your smell
Was your smell comming off the jet, anything compared to your smell comming off the mountains? Cuz if that was the fact, OMG those poor bastards around you!!! LOL did i mention i miss you emensly?!?!
12th February 2006

R U Alive?
Haven't heard from you in a long while. At least, juding by your bank account and all the money disappearing, you are still alive. We all would luv to hear from you, and to see your journal updated. Remember, we are all living our lives through you right now! TeeHee Liven it up! Luv U Mom
22nd February 2006

hi
hey scotty we all miss yaou are the life of the party

Tot: 0.156s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0714s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb