Snake Village


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Red River Delta » Hanoi
February 10th 2009
Published: February 16th 2009
Edit Blog Post

So we'd seen and heard from some friends about a little place outside of Hanoi called Snake Village. We'd heard something about cobra hearts, snake whiskey and getting drunk. Cameron and I decided for $15 we'd venture out for the day and check it out. So, we jumped on a bus with about 9 other travellers and our sweet little guide named Ti and had about a 20-minute drive out of town.

We arrived in Snake Village and walked in to find a Vietnamese man holding a 4-foot Cobra, taunting him a bit for our entertainment. He started walking off and we naturally followed to continue taking photos. We were led to a deck over a mucky green lake, with lots of covered seating. Ti quietly gestured for us all to make our way towards one of the covered seating areas, where the tables were all set. Thinking we were being sat to begin trying unique dishes of snake, we headed that way, but before we knew it the man with the Cobra was putting on a show that involved more than just taunting the Cobra!

He had the Cobra on the ground with his foot on it's neck
Snake VillageSnake VillageSnake Village

We decided the murky green waters were snake breeding grouds...not sure if it's true or not, but it added to the aura of creepiness.
and the snake began to spit venom onto the ground. He took no time, cutting out the Cobra's fangs, then holding it up in the air, sliting it's throat and sticking his index and middle fingers down the snake's neck to pull out it's heart. Another man had appeared with a tray, containing two glasses, half full of snake whiskey and a shot glass. The first man dropped the still beating Cobra heart into the shot glass, then began to squeeze the Cobra's blood into the first glass of snake whiskey. He filled it up and cut further down the Cobra's body and began squeezing the snake's bile into the second glass of snake whiskey. He filled that glass and before finishing, the second man had left and reappeared with another snake and the first man was on to repeating the task.

The second man handed out the bile-snake whiskey glass and Cameron and I, along with a few others, each had a large swig. It was acidic and musty and I wished I'd had a chaser. After handing out the bile-snake whiskey, the second man poured some of the blood-snake whiskey into the shot glass over the STILL
Snake VillageSnake VillageSnake Village

Do you see the venom that Cobra just spit?!!!
beating Cobra heart. One of the guys who'd ventured out to Snake Village with us jumped at the first shot of blood-snake whiskey snake heart. He took back the shot only to realize that the heart had stuck to the bottom of the shot glass!! So with a cringe on his face he allowed the second man to pour another half shot of blood-whiskey over the heart, he swirled it around this time, then took it back for the second time! It did not pay to go first.

By this time, the second snake's heart was beating in a shot glass and filled with blood-snake whiskey. Cameron took this second shot, while I video taped. (Once we get home we'll be able to upload the footage...sorry for the anticipation!) The two men carrying out these snake guttings disappeared sometime between Cameron receiving the shot and the time I finished recording him taking it. I was left in my own anticipation of taking this shot, while both the guys who had just taken them found their hands shaking in the rush of adrenaline. What about me? I wondered. I don't want to have to wait in this anticipation anymore. I came this far and I'm going to take this shot; so I asked Ti if she could have them bring me a snake heart. She giggled and nodded and I hoped she understood as she motioned for us all to have a seat and servers began to bring us dish after dish of snake.

We first received snake soup (which had the consistency of a cup full of freshly hocked loogies, with chewy bits of meat mixed in), then snake seaweed spring rolls, followed by fried snake spring rolls (which were really good), then I saw a man coming out with a red shot glass. At this point, I had noticed that a couple of the other guys had asked for the shot as well, so as soon as he arrived at our table, I jumped up and stated firmly, "I'll take that one!" So with shaky hands, I took the shot glass and looked back at Cameron to make sure he had the video camera on. Not only was Cameron and the video camera's attention on me, but the entire tables! So my loving big brother commenced a countdown, 3-2-1, and I took a shot of snake blood
Snake VillageSnake VillageSnake Village

Blood and Bile
mixed with snake whiskey and a beating heart at the bottom. Me?! Who eats chicken fingers at every possible meal. I'm as amazed as you are! And it wasn't that bad...at first...then the after taste of blood-whiskey gave me a slight gag, I chugged some water, and sat down (with even shakier hands) just in time for the arrival of the snake stir-fry and thank the good lord, a cold beer!

The snake courses continued to come! Fried snake skin (one of my favorites of the day actually) and snake liver, snake potato soup, snake ribs (not real meaty). They also threw in some steamed rice, jicama (how cool is that Mom! I wished I'd had ranch to dip it in), fried rice bread and watermelon. And of course unlimited amounts of snake whiskey. So with every new taste of snake we also had a shot of the musty, disgusting, yet free snake whiskey. We were grateful for the beer, and when that ran out, the fried rice bread for chasers after the whiskey and were in high spirits (figuratively and literally) when we left. We headed back to Hanoi, where we met back up with friends, for a
Snake VillageSnake VillageSnake Village

Our snake feast!
night out on the town.

It's fear factor in America, but just another day in Vietnam.




Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Snake VillageSnake Village
Snake Village

Trying the fried snake skin.


27th February 2009

OMG OMG OMG OMG OMG OMG
Ok Ok, last time I had time to read your blog I was enjoying the tranquilty of the journey. I had no idea, as I placed my safe and not gross cream cheese on my not beating half bagel, I was about to read THIS!!!!!!!! You and your brother are nuts. Its official. And both of you are OUT OF YOUR MINDS. And yet still, I am envious. Your bragging rights have been EARNED! ***Bowing to my little sister and brother*** I love you....d
28th February 2009

Haha, I was most excited for your response! :-)

Tot: 0.188s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.116s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb