What a strange 24 hours!


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Red River Delta » Hanoi
July 30th 2008
Published: July 30th 2008
Edit Blog Post

M-Thursday goes ThaiM-Thursday goes ThaiM-Thursday goes Thai

Check out these digs. If you could have seen these 4 girls looking around at all the marble and glamorous lights, it was priceless! 3 of them haven't slept in a 1/2 decent hotel in 2 1/2 weeks. Christina has just arrived for her first 3rd world experience. Classic.
What a strange 24 hours to say the least!

I got on a plane in Denpasar, Bali, Indonesia.
Arrived at Novotel by the Bangkok airport around 2am.
Took the best hot shower of my life.
Slept in Bangkok, Thailand.
Woke up and had breakfast with my friends Kristin, Christina, Courtney and Mikala(sp).
Now I am waiting for my sister and her boyfriend, Tristan, so we can have dinner in Hanoi, Vietnam.
Ahhh...this is the life!

How I ended up here I don't even really know. I am really looking forward to seeing the coast here that we didn't get to see when we were here last year. The journey here of course had some ups and downs. Meeting with K,C,C, and M and up. My flight being delayed in Bangkok a down. Being able to contact the hotel in Hanoi so my driver would know I was delayed, an up. Arriving in Hanoi and having to wait for the customs agents to give me my visa for so long I couldn't find my driver, a down. Figuring out how to use a payphone in Vietnam, an up. Finding out my driver gave up on me and left,
A REAL BathroomA REAL BathroomA REAL Bathroom

This place had all the amenities. Shampoo, conditioner, moisturizer, mouthwash, razors, toothbrushes....you name it.
a down. Having an ice cold Bia Ha Noi(the local brew) to help me get ver it, an up. Having to take a taxi into Hanoi, a big down. Having the taxi driver actually ake me where I wanted to go, maybe the bigges up of the day!!!

A note about taxis in Hanoi. They are notorious for picking up tourists at the airport asking their destination hotel and then going to a completely different one. This happened last year. They apparently get a comission if you stay at the hotel they ake you to. The worst thing is, if you don't like it or don't want to stay they just abandon you in some random part of the uge city with no bearing. If there are street signs, they are impossible to pronounce. The fact that I ended up hear, at the Heart Hotel, where my sister reserved a room for us is more than a small miracle in my opinion.

I am finally in a country that appreciates the need for a reliable and fast internet connection. Fast of course is always a relative term. This means that I will FINALLY be able to pick up
K and CK and CK and C

Filthy backpackers!
some pictures!! Not now of course as the camers is up in the room and I can hear a hot bowl of Pho callng my name.

Karen, I will have one for you too! Wish you coulda been there this morning. The rest of M-Thursday too for that matter. Hope you're living it up on the vinyard.

Funny, Indonesia is in the dry season and Vietnam is not. What a difference it makes! SOOOOO HUMID! UGH!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

M and CM and C
M and C

Smelly backpackers!
Family Reunion in HanoiFamily Reunion in Hanoi
Family Reunion in Hanoi

Here we are eating at a sidewalk restaraunt in Hanoi.


30th July 2008

Mr. President saves the day!
I have to say that picture of the three of you is classic. I am going to frame it and put it on my desk (or rolling cart as the case may be). There you are in what looks to be a five star hotel, (which you probably paid no more than $15 for) and Kristin and Christina have this look of "WTF" have we been staying... priceless really. Couldn't you have throne them a bone. I mean really. Anyhoo, I am sure you had a sit down and told them whats, what. Although knowing you, you probably feel that figuring it out for themselves is a far better learning experience! Your travels look amazing.. I'm so jealous I can't even talk about it. I can't wait for all of you to come back. Be safe. Karen
30th July 2008

Nice to see you!
Happy to hear that you have joined friends and family. Glad you arrived safely least the ups and downs of your journey. Enjoy your new travel companions and please no sibling squabbles as reality of the real world is just around the corner so enjoy! Good to see your smiling face in the pic with your friends. Live, Laugh and be happy!!! and of course safe. Lots of Love Mom
30th July 2008

Humid
It´s filthy hot here too. How long do you have with your sis and friend? I´ve got two weeks left today. Glad to hear you´re having a good time jetsetting around. Thanks for the Liverpool news. Have you heard about Kaka going to Chelsea for a world record $160 million? See you soon, mate. mike
30th July 2008

Sweating my ........ off
Dude, last year my sis got so sick of hearing that. It is just too true. So nice in Indo. Warm during the day, pleasant in the evening, perfect! Here....so muggy it is disgusting. 160mil....that is rediculous. I knew I shoulda kept playing! They are headed home on the 11th. That gives us 10 days to head down the coast. After that the sky is the limit(no pun intended). Maybe the Mekong Delta, Kalimantan, back to Lombok or Legian in Bali. The last twl I would be able to stay with 'friends' so I might do that. Diving in Lombok or surfing in Legian. What a tough choice. Then again there is always Thailand, Kristin and crew will be back there by then. I don't think it will be worth going to sumatra as I will have to head back to Bali just as I got going. Komodo is still a real possibility too. 5 days by boat there which gives me 2 days on either end to get myself to Bali and back at the end. What do you think? so glad to hear about the camera....no really, i am ;)
30th July 2008

so good to hear from you
To be honest, that hotel was no joke. It was expensive by US standards, worth every penny of it. Ok...maybe not every penny, but the looks on their faces surely was. For the record, it was 5 stars, although I would have given it at least a 6! You clearly know me too well. I didn't go with them cuz I figured they needed to experience it for themselves and didn't need a know it all with them. I can't wait 'til our first "meeting"! BTW...there are no rules regarding school placement and positions on the board so don't be discouraged!
30th July 2008

Hi
HI, glad to see that you met up with the girls. It must be great to be with friends, especially ones from home. enjoy your time together. Memories you will all share forvever and to discuss through the years........... Love to all of you enjoy and stay safe Lucille
30th July 2008

are you going to the moon?
Perhaps a strange comment title but I'll explain. I have been sharing your travels with Sully and pulling up maps to help illustrate what world travel means. He continually asks "is he still traveling? where is he going now?" and so on. I asked him if he wanted to say something to you and thus the comment about the moon. Not nearly as profound as what you have been sharing, but indeed a legitimate question from an almost 3 year old. We all have been enjoying "traveling" with you and it certainly stirs some wonderlust in us. Our adventures here as new business owners is both interesting and exhausting in its own way. We are taking a big jump here in a couple of weeks when Sandi emancipates herself from the corporate world so we can both fully wrap our arms around THe Family Tree. Looking forward to your continuing saga. I miss you my brutha! peace, z
30th July 2008

Errr....
Do we have to go over the sunscreen thing again, Eric?? As I can see, you've been bad boy. Ok, I'll stop right there and get off the soapbox now :) It's great that you have so many choices for the next leg of your trip.....I'm sure any of them will be wonderful experiences for you. Komodo sounds the most intriguing to me, especially since it's still mating season for the K-dragons. You might even get to see the mating and territorial fights going on right now...could be a bit gruesome, but kind of cool, no? Stay safe and well and have more fun! Suze
31st July 2008

Glad you're here
It is funny. All these years later I still sometes here your voice in the back of my head right after I've done something really stupid saying...."man paci". Let Sully know that his time adventuring with uncle Eric is coming!
31st July 2008

Sunscreen
Indonesians believe that the sun and smoking won't kill you. They claim that it is the lack of adequate health care that kills you!
1st August 2008

Sunscreen Part 2
Well, duh. Yes, lack of adequate health care results in people being sick and perhaps dying when they could be treated/cured. I'd agree with the Indonesians on that point. However, proper and adequate health care also involves education on preventative measures for staying healthy, of which wearing sunscreen is one. Therefore, Meester Paci.....I will remind you that 1.) you have beyond adequate health care and it's accompanying education and 2.) you are not Indonesian. I rest my case.
2nd August 2008

wish I knew you guys when
I have to say that I wish when I would have been able to do this kind of travel (translation ...before kids ; back when I was wild and crazy) I had met people like all of you and I would have been joining you all I'm sure. Thanks for letting me, us, ride along with you.. Marie and Madison
2nd August 2008

Awww....
Was my last sunscreen comment too harsh? For the sake of anyone reading who doesn't know me.....I hope the sarcasm came through! And (*smacks forehead*) - I almost forgot. Of course you aren't Indonesian....the Peruvian adopted child, if I remember correctly? (sorry, but that still cracks me up!)
2nd August 2008

Marie & Madison...glad you could come
I have to say that getting the occasional message from home makes it seem a lot closer than it is. I wish I was able to put more pictures up and capture the skells and tastes of the places to share. Photos and words hardly do justice to the amazing people and beautiful places. It is never too late!! I have saw soooooo many families traveling in Bali, even with infants!. I don't doubt that there would be a few more challenges along the way though. I always thought I would do all my traveling before having a family, but if I can afford it, I don't think I'll ever stop. The Balinese and Indonesians were particularly open to various religions, relationships and people as well.
2nd August 2008

Sarcasm....
Oh I got it, not to worry. I completely ignore any such advice, but I get it. Funny, people here(vietnam and the whole of SE Asia) wear long sleeves when in the sun and use excessive amounts of skin whitening cream and make-up to make themselves look as light skinned as possible. Dark, tan skin is for farmers and people that work outside, the lower class. The 20-something men are particularly feminine. They grow there nails long and have totally feminine hair cuts(by western standards), also a status symbol. The long nails signifies that you don't work with your hands. Some even wear nail polish and I'm pretty sure they were hetero.
2nd August 2008

The other blogges comments
Gia and Suze.. Eric doesn't know what sunscreen is. All he knows is one hour in the sun and he is totally chocolate... and loves how it works for him in his travels!!!. Helping him to not look American..... A man who can transform his ethnicity to suit his needs.. Remember the pictures of him in his blue trubin in Africa on a camel ?
2nd August 2008

Hello Z
Zac Hello Hello Hello this is a strange way to reach out and say hello but it works .... somehow I can just picture you pre fatherhood on these journies with Eric!!!.... But no journey in the world is as adventurous as that of parenting .. just look at the adventures I am still getting to live zseeing two of my three children meeting up in Vietnam. My spirit and heart with them... Ahh parenting the most exciting journey of all. It is so nice to hear your voice. Enjoy the ride it goes so quickly... and from what I hear you are now on another new adventure with a "business" of your own. Good luck lots of love Mamma Paci
3rd August 2008

Eric's mom....
Hi there, it's Suze. I can relate to not ever knowing what sunscreen is too....another Italian here (Lentine) who never burns and tanned my fool head off for most of my life. It caught up with me finally, in an unfortunate medical way and I've learned a hard lesson. So poor Eric gets to hear my "sunscreen preaching" all too often. I know it falls on deaf ears though - but I can't help but try anyway! Yes, I do remember that photo of him from Africa - he certainly fit right in with the natives!!
4th August 2008

Nice to see the photos
HI, Nice to see some pictures of friends. I like the family reunion one too. glad to hear you all have met p as planned. thinking of you and all you are experiencing. As I said before star tthe summer travel group and you could have a whole free ride if you plan it correctly.A few weeks as the guide then a few on your own. think about it. I will be one of the first customers. Have fun and stay safe. Lucille
5th August 2008

thanks for the laugh
eric was it the local brew or the fact your keyboard was lacking a few letters that you were mister typo? thanks for the morning laugh with your captions below the new photos. i am going to have to rendezvous with you one of these years! looks like a lot of fun.. filthy backpackers and all! take and be safe!
7th August 2008

Local brew or keyboard.....
I'm sure you already know the answer to that question!

Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 7; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0608s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb