Hanoi/Vietnam


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Red River Delta » Hanoi
July 29th 2007
Published: August 26th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Fun on the boatFun on the boatFun on the boat

On the way back from Perfume Pagoda
Now it was time to check out North Vietnam. Hanoi was my favorite city of the 3. We stayed in the old quarter. It was chaotic, but beautiful with always something to see to grab my attention. Our cyclo driver took us all over the city checking out lakes, pagodas and musuems. I loved cruising around the city in the cyclo. We went out at night and 1 block from our hotel was a corner where they served beer for 12 cents glass. I stuck to the water which was more expensive. I loved sitting outside and playing with the other travellers and locals. Everybody in Hanoi (and the rest of Vietnam) wanted to hold me, and I went to them with open arms. After all, being held by just dad gets kinda boring.

We also did a day trip to the perfume pagoda. We took a 2 hour bus ride, then went on a 1 hour boat ride. It was very peaceful and I had a lot of fun. Then we arrived and took a gondala to the top of the mountain to reach the pagoda that was in a cave. I met a lot of cool people on
Tran Quoc PagodaTran Quoc PagodaTran Quoc Pagoda

Always smiling (okay, almost always)
this 1 day tour, incuding to Italians from Udine, close to where I was born. The boat ride back was especially fun as I was playing with people on my boat and my amici in the boat near us.

However, the higlight of Hanoi was the water puppet show. We went with a very nice New Zealand couple who had wine and dinner in our hotel room first. Dad didnt think I would last the whole 45 minutes watching, but I did, and I could have lasted a lot longer. It was awesome. Dad bought me a couple puppets to keep as souvenirs.

It was a great 2 1/2 weeks in Vietnam, but it was time to move on to our next country.


Additional photos below
Photos: 27, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Ho Chi Minh's MausoleumHo Chi Minh's Mausoleum
Ho Chi Minh's Mausoleum

Dad was not convinced the body was real
Le PubLe Pub
Le Pub

My favorite bar/restaurant. Lots of toys and employees to play with while dad had some beer/food.
Finding NemoFinding Nemo
Finding Nemo

This waitress let me play with the fish while waiting for the food.
Turtle/SteleTurtle/Stele
Turtle/Stele

Temple of Literature
More Ice CreamMore Ice Cream
More Ice Cream

Before entering Ho's Museum
Mesmerized for 45 minutesMesmerized for 45 minutes
Mesmerized for 45 minutes

The Water Puppet Show
Temper TantrumTemper Tantrum
Temper Tantrum

One of only a few on the whole trip. I had to show my dad I was not perfect.
Bia HoiBia Hoi
Bia Hoi

12 cent beers in the street. My bottled water was 4 time the price.
Books for saleBooks for sale
Books for sale

Dad made this kid real happy when he was trying to sell us a travel book, and dad gave him his for free.
Street FoodStreet Food
Street Food

Yep, that's me in the back. Gotta love it!


Tot: 0.389s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 26; qc: 128; dbt: 0.1679s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb