Ceramic Village Bat Trang


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Red River Delta » Hanoi
June 9th 2007
Published: June 9th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I met up with Maggie and Kate fellow SEASSI students and anthropologist in Hanoi and we agreed to visit Bat Trang, a famous pottery village south of Hanoi. We walked around a good hour investigating the wealth of ceramic creativity. Due to the heat we hastened our departure to an air-conditioned bus. We all bought serverware for a good price before departing. When the sun shines in Viet Nam, it is hard to be outside walking around and even worse to be in shops that have no circulating air of any sort.
Later that day Maggie and I enjoyed a great tradition in Hanoi: Boun Cha. I have to save it is very delicious! The meal was probably the best I have had. Meeting up with Maggie has been a real blessing. She has provided me with several contacts and in valuable information.
After lunch Maggie took me to a local market, I was amazed at the confined quarters where people sell cloth in 100 degree heat. The market is enormous being four levels and extending to another building across the street. I wandered down the narrow corridors stopping briefly to pick out some fabric for my mom who loves patterns that include people. Enjoy the great photos.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.037s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0193s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb