Hanoi


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Red River Delta » Hanoi
July 28th 2006
Published: August 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

1st Aug 2006
Hanoi & Sapa (Vietman)

Hi everyone.

My flight to Hanoi was uneventful.

Hanoi is a very busy place. the old quarter which is in the centre of town.This is where all the action is so of course I found a place there. It took me about two hours to get there from the airport and find a hotel to stay in. average rate here seems to be about $10/night. I found one for $4. It came with 2 room mates (2 geckos). I didn't mind this because any insects that got into my room they eat.
After I finally got setteled in, it was about 10:30pm. I went out to find some food. I discovered right on my corner was a big gathering place. After dark all the shops on the four corners stop selling what they sell during the day. They roll out acouple of kegs each, and start off with about 20 little chairs each. by 12:00 there is about 300-400 chairs these end up taking up most of the street. A 12oz glass of beer costs 2000dong this is about 13 cents. YES; 12oz beer = $0.13cdn. So I spent my nights here meeting people from everywhere.
The traffic in Hanoi is insane. Intersections are chaos biggest vehicle gets the right away otherwise you just push your way through. Crossing the street is kind of weird you set a pace and start walking. As long as you do not speed up or slow down all the scooters will go around you.
After 2 nights in Hanoi I took the night train to Sapa a town way up in the mountains on the China boarder (northern Vietnam). A really great place, you are actually in the clouds. My first day here I could not see out my window. Everyone says it is a amazing view. But I had to wait till the 2nd day here to actually see it. One the 2nd I also rented a scooter went to checkout a 100m waterfalls, and I hiked to the peak above the town.

I hope everyone is having a great summer

Cheers

Tim





Additional photos below
Photos: 32, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Sapa My View day 1Sapa My View day 1
Sapa My View day 1

I'm in the clouds
Sapa My View day 2Sapa My View day 2
Sapa My View day 2

Clouds are gone


Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 11; qc: 27; dbt: 0.041s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb