Goodbye Hoi An - Hello Hanoi


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Red River Delta » Hanoi » Thuy An
July 19th 2013
Published: July 19th 2013
Edit Blog Post

WHAT A FANTASTIC DAY!!!

Yes, I have had an amazing day and am just so glad Robyn and Peter invited me to join them on their holiday as it got me here and I am having wonderful experience. So here is my day.....

Started with breakfast with Robyn and Peter, missed my walk as I slept like I had died last night which was what I needed. We then set off for the tailors to pick up our dresses, which look amazing by the way! Much to Robyn's horror we had to go via bike and we set off at a great pace zipping through the traffic and closing our eyes as our drivers dodged other bikes, buses and cars, but we arrived safely at the destination, even if a bit hot and sweaty. We tried on our dresses which were close to perfect!! Thanks to Peter who is carrying back my boots and dress due to the fact that he hasn't bought anything apart from a stubby buddy!!

While we were trying on our dresses, in the tailor's kitchen of course, we found some interesting specimen jars!! See the one with the cobra. Not too sure what they were there for but there were bottles with lizards, snakes, star fish and other things that I cant even name......

After the dress fittings we headed back to the resort, but not before a stop at the shoe shop and here I bought three pairs of sandals, at 11.00am and they said they would have them ready at 1.00, I thought well Pete is going to have to carry those as they will never be ready, but as with everything else we have had made, it was ready when they said. One pair was a bit loose so while we ate lunch next door they altered them and brought them back by 1.30! Which was good as my transport to the airport was leaving at 2.00!!

We spent a couple of hours on the beach relaxing before picking up the shoes, and of course had to have a nana nap after all the hard work of shopping!! Not before Clarkee had a game of volley ball.

It was a sad farewell for me as I had only had the two days with Robyn and Peter but they were days well spent and I hope we have many more travel adventures together in the future!! Definitely back in Hoi An.

So at 2.00pm I set off on my own. Now even though I had been looking forward to this part of the trip, there was a part of me that was a wee bit nervous of arriving in a new place on my own, but after two glasses of wine at lunch - by the way lunch was steamed rice, tomato, onion and squid with a chilli sauce - yummm. Anyway after lunch I was relaxed and ready to explore. Well, ok so I fell asleep in the car on the way to the airport, but at least I was relaxed!!

Getting on the plane was easy and so was getting off!! Jetstar Pacific very efficient, apart from my flight being delayed 7 hours, which suited me so I got the extra time in Hoi An. Lucky I had organised a transfer from the airport to the hotel as I didnt want to risk being taken to the wrong hotel. If I thought driving in Hoi An an experience, I now know that was nothing compared to Hanoi. I have a swivel head all the way from the airport to the hotel, there was so much to look at. There was a motor bike with wire cages full of dogs!! Not sure where they were going, I hope not to my restaurant!! The drive went past rice paddies with cattle next door to industrial buildings. It is an amazing city.

Lucky my driver knew where we were going (NOT) so on the way we stopped for petrol. Check out the petrol pump photo. Finally the car stopped and the driver said "here" and I said "I don't think so" we had stopped in the middle of a market with no hotel in sight and I could see me standing in the middle of the market with my bags with no idea where to go!! With my usual relaxed attitude I pointed out to the driver that I was not getting out until we found the hotel. I gave him the phone number and he spoke to the hotel and did a u turn in the middle of the market, much to the stall holders disgust and then drove to the hotel! I was a little bit relieved when I saw the hotel did actually exist. The staff were really friendly and helpful and for $17 a night I was quite amazed with the room. Location is fantastic right in the middle of the old quarter and when I got out of the car I was filled with the smells, sights and sounds of Hanoi and itching to get out and explore.

So I set off with a map, camera and a fast beating heart to find a restaurant the staff recommended! I walked down the street turning the map round and round to try and work out where I was and where I was going. Where is the navigator when they are needed!! Finally I walked up to a small florist shop and asked them to point me in the direction of where I was going. Well, then the adventure started!! The lady insisted that her boyfriend drive me on his bike to the restaurant, and no they didn't want any money. So of course I jumped on the back of the bike, I really am going to have to get my own bike again when I get home, I just love it. It was amazing being in the middle of this mad crush of bikes, cars and buses, horns blaring and darting through gaps that I wouldn't have thought possible. Well he got me there safely, but I had no idea of how I was going to get back!

Anyway, once I got there I realised I had no money, helpful when you are going out for dinner! I found a Mercure Hotel and lucky I am an Accor member and they changed some money for me, or I would have been going home hungry. Went to an amazing restaurant that had lots and lots of people and being on your own they didnt really want me to take up a table so they sat me down next to two guys who were happy to share their table. One was from Paris and the other from Vietnam and they had just met in a park and decided to come to dinner! We had a wonderful dinner speaking through broken English, French and Vietnamese to get each other's stories. I left them to their night and decided to tackle the walk home.

Setting out again with the map from hell, I went into an icecream shop (For Directions of course) and then set off. After about an hour of walking, lots of talking to the locals to get directions I found my way home and was glad to see the smiling staff who were happy to see me back safe!!

What an absolutely amazing day, and it just goes to prove I'm not too old for adventures and in fact I am looking forward to more over the next week.


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

View to the right of the hotelView to the right of the hotel
View to the right of the hotel

Sights, smells and sounds of Hanoi!!


Tot: 0.144s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0723s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb