Dingo ate the baby...


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Northwest » Lao Cai » Sapa
April 14th 2011
Published: April 13th 2011
Edit Blog Post

So I’ve been stateside for three weeks and when landing in Nashville I had no idea what was in store. Day one the pollen bomb was dropped, day two my sinuses exploded, day three my voice was gone, day four I slept for eighteen hours, day five I had a presentation at school, and day six thru nineteen I was either miserable or on the verge of being miserable. I am now back among the living.

I have read thousands of pages about the east over the past few years and have come to realize how fascinating and otherworldly it is in comparison to what I find familiar. I left America with the intention of enjoying this strangeness. There were many aspects of Vietnam that made me feel as if I were on another planet and my next few posts will chronicle them.

Massage etiquette is one such element. Gratefully, I was never put into the awkward situation of a proposition, with many of the spas relying on multiple-bed rooms or windowed doors. Quality was hit or miss but in reality a bad massage isn’t really that bad, is it?

My last day in Hanoi had me leaving by overnight train at 9pm. I had walked the city all day touring museums, monuments, etc. Travel weary, I booked a one hour skin scrub and an hour and half massage to fill the time between check out at the hotel and train departure. In the middle of this fabulous massage my therapist burped. Not dingo ate the baby big but noticeable none the less. I smiled. Ten minutes later another burp. I smiled again.



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

The proprietor of my hotel in Sa Pa.The proprietor of my hotel in Sa Pa.
The proprietor of my hotel in Sa Pa.

She worked the front desk and cooked. I saw her everytime I came downstairs, no matter the time.


14th April 2011
Sunrise in Saigon

What a beautiful photograph!

Tot: 0.2s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 7; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0847s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb