The only single on a love boat, again...


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Northeast » Quang Ninh » Halong Bay
November 28th 2006
Published: December 9th 2006
Edit Blog Post

The trip to Halong Bay was really awesome. We were feed 3 seafood feasts a day, so of course I was in culinary paradise the whole time. There was so much food that no one was able to finish except for our table because we dined with this French Guy, Florian, who has been working for an NGO in Mongolia for the past year so he is eating to make up for lost time. The Mongolian diet seems to be entirely made up of Yak dairy products and mutton. I don't think I'd do well there. I spent one night sleeping on a boat, which was actually less exciting than one would expect. Probably because I was tired and lamely went to bed before 9pm. Something about sea air just makes me tired. Plus there was nothing really to do except drink and talk to people, and most turned in early as well. Most likely because everyone else on the boat was in a couple except for Vincent and I. The experience would have been wildly romantic if I wasn't once again a single on a couples' love cruise. That aside it was still a great time. Vincent and I befriended the French couple who had been living in Mongolia. The scenary around Halong Bay is a photographer's dream - turquoise waters dotted with jade green limestone islands and colourful floating villages. The second day we headed to Monkey Island (as far as I could tell, home to only 3 very ill-tempered monkeys that scatch and bite people). We got to kyak in the ocean to a secluded beach. We also checked out a few caves. The day was a gray and a bit cool for Vietnam standard but we braved the cold and went for a swim. The water turned out to be warmer than the air, a very nice surprise. This was the first time I've swam in salt water without the aid of a floatation device, so it was quite a proud moment for me. I also ended up climbing to one of the highest points of the island in a skirt and with bare feet up razor sharp jagged rocks. Only 3 cuts. A kind Japanese guy felt that he had to be chivalrous and help me but since I was a better climber than him it just made things that make harder. I ended up having to help him up a few times! That night we stayed in a hotel on Cat Ba Island and a bunch of us took in the night life. I'm becoming a decent pool player here in Vietnam. We also checked out a night club. It was pretty dead being a Tuesday night, but there were a few locals. Weirdly enough the bar staff including the bouncer were women and the patrons were all men. Obviously the men were going nuts on the dance floor dancing with each other. In fact, when Marlene and I joined them on the dance floor the men all scattered. I think they were scared of us. Eventually a few brave souls danced with us and a couple guys that we came with as well. Unfortunately, they were white men who couldn't dance. The next day we toured a few caves then got feed the most lavious meal yet before heading back to Hanoi. Vincent and I caught a bus to Hue the same night. I wasn't really sad saying good-bye to Hanoi but I did meet some nice people there.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.141s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 11; qc: 58; dbt: 0.1045s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb