Ho Chi Minh City


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Mekong River Delta
December 4th 2013
Published: December 4th 2013
Edit Blog Post

We are settled in our hotel in Ho Chi Minh City. A nice place with a good view and a hair dryer! There are no words to express the traffic. Over 5 million "Hondas" all going at great speed and in unison making it all look like an undulating dance. We haven't sat in the front seat of the bus but are told that is very exciting. Probably terrifying! Tonight we are off to a water puppet show and dinner in a home.

Today we traveled about two hours out of town to the Cu Chi Tunnels. What an experience. The first tunnel was too small for me....no comments. Our friends Adam and Hazel just jumped in and Adam is as tall as Ot! During the war over 16,000 people lived in these tunnels. Attached are pictures of the tunnel openings and one slit that is an air hole.

When we got back a few of us went to the Vietnam war museum. Very moving. We could take pictures but I just took some from outside. I couldn't take any of the exhibits. That war was such a part of my life and it all made me so very sad. I think it saddens me more knowing we didn't learn from it.

Tomorrow we are off to the Cambodian border for our last country. I can not believe how quickly our time has passed


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.202s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.1779s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb