bargaining for accommodation


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Mekong River Delta » Kien Giang » Phu Quoc Island
September 27th 2006
Published: September 27th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Sunset at Phu Quoc islandSunset at Phu Quoc islandSunset at Phu Quoc island

view from the resort
After a while in the city with lots of traffic and the humidity, and the noise ...it was time for me truly to have a vacation from a vacation, a rest and relaxation, and a quietness. So, again, without much discussing with friends, or advanced planning , I headed out to the Tan son Nhat airport, and asked for a roundtrip ticket to Phu Quoc Island myself.

Arrived in Duong Dong airport at noon. While other passengers were waiting for their luggage, I looked around for a desk to book my accommodation. No one was at the desk. I was approached by a guy asking me if I were looking for a hotel. Yes, I told him. and He started the sale pitch. He wanted me to stay in his "assigned" resort so to get a commission once someone decide to stay there. He wanted to charge me 300,000 VND (around 20 bucks per night). Good enough. Yet, moment later, another guy approached me and offered me the ride to His resort for 230,000 VND (15 USD). Since I knew the name of his resort (from a brochure of a reputable travel agency), I was inclined to accept the offer. On the ride to the resort, I talked him into reducing the price to 200,000 VND but he could not decide and I had to use my marketing skill to talk to the manager on arrival for the final offer.

Arrived at the resort, I was taken to see the room, it was quite nice very near the beach, some 50 yards away, on a second floor so I can the beach from the balcony. The room is equiped with a fridge, a cable television, hot shower and air conditioner.

In the afternoon, after lunch at the resort restaurant, I set out to visit the surrounding areas. First, to visit the Cau temple (Dinh Cau), an altar worshiped by local fishermen before going out to sea, the Cau's spirit will then protect the fishermen from the sea if there is a storm and bring them home safely.

Then a trip to Duong Dong market to purchase food for dinner. Lots of snacks and inexpensive. Time to enjoy some fresh fruits here as well: Dragonfruit, fresh coconut, custard, ....Tiger beer, spring rolls, .....

Next day, I stopped by another resort next door to inquire about organized trip ...around the island. Nothing available and too expensive. I opted out to rent a bike or even better, to hire a honda taxi and discussed where I wanted to go ...we mapped out the places and I was taken around. First, was a visit to the Pearl farm then on to Ham Ninh ancient fishing village, Su mon pagoda, Tranh stream, ...and An thoi port.

Arrived back to Saigon on the next day after lunch.



Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

resort in Phu Quoc islandresort in Phu Quoc island
resort in Phu Quoc island

looking out to the sea
a fishing boata fishing boat
a fishing boat

want a ride ?
cows wander around town cows wander around town
cows wander around town

only seen in Phu Quoc Island, cows enjoy the peaceful gazing pasture by the sea
Tranh streamTranh stream
Tranh stream

(suoi Tranh)
Chua Su MuonChua Su Muon
Chua Su Muon

Su Muon pagoda


Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 15; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0265s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb