The long route to Chiang Mai (from Canberra, Oz)


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand
November 3rd 2011
Published: November 4th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Days 1-2: the journey

NOTE: those of you who subscribed a few years back, you may wish to unsubscribe as this is the first of a months worth of blogs.

Well, the phrase long journey doesn't quite do my route to Chiang Mai justice. It was longer than long, but a fairly chilled way to start a holiday if you don't mind airports and flying, which I don't.

But before I get into the details, which no one wants to know anyway, let me share an anecdote about Air Asia. I thought I heard it on my second flight but thought I was dreaming, but having heard it on my third Air Asia flight in a day, I know I wasn't. For aviation nuts out there, both flights were on an A320-300 series. Turns out they haven't updated their in-flight messages for what I can only assume is a LONG time. Apparently you can't use cassette players during take-off, landing and when the seat belt sign is on. Yep, you read that right, cassette players. And VCD players, not that I even know what that is. Unfortunately the clause for 'other electronic portable devices' probably covers things like iPads and iPods and iPhones. And if you thought that was slightly amusing. Things you can't use at any time during the flight included... Remote controlled cars (who uses them during a flight???) and walkie talkies. Yep. Uh huh, no using walkie talkies now. No mention of mobile phones but there was mention of portable phones. Think it just might be time for them to update that in-flight message, it only makes me slightly disturbed that the plane is old.

Anyway so onto the normal stuff...

So, departed Canberra on a Virgin Australia flight at 5pm local. I had been due to fly Qantas but a few weeks earlier cancelled and re-booked as I didn't want to risk not getting to Melbourne for my international flight. Plus, Virgin even fed me and gave me wine.

Collected my baggage and headed out to dinner with the folks. Went to a pub in Essendon, even managed to win $20 jackpot at the porkies before it was back to the airport. Had about an hour before I could drop off my bag, and was both shocked and concerned when they wanted to weigh my carry on luggage. My bag had come in at 12kg, but thankfully my carry on was a mere 4kg. Then it was straight through Customs where everything was a lot newer than I remembered from the old days. Very white, new logo everywhere, quite clean looking really. Straight to the TRS queue to claim the refund on the new iPad before a spot of duty free browsing and then finding myself a place to sit with a beer for the next two hours.

Think I was sound asleep before take-off, slept through dinner service and pretty much all the way through to KL. Flight not too packed so a little extra room to spread.

Once I cleared customs in KL I found myself a quiet place to sit for a spot of breakfast, pretty average, and found free wifi. Once I wore out my welcome there I wandered a little longer and ended up getting a hot choc in Starbucks to use their wifi. And once I wore out my welcome there it was finally time to drop my bags off for the flight to Bangkok. In the meantime though, I had discovered that the trains between Bangkok and Chiang Mai were again up and running. Grrr. It was only four days ago I booked a flight, even though I had a train ticket. Was looking forward to the train too, but now I've got the flight and accommodation booked it seems silly to waste it. Frustrating though, not to mention a waste of money.

So, luggage sorted I still had almost three hours til the flight. Wandered a lot more up and down, browsed a few shops, spent a while in the bookshop, riveting stuff. Ended up grabbing McDs for lunch at about 1130am as it seemed the easiest option for me to sit in there and waste time without looking too obvious. So that's what I did until almost 1230pm after which time I headed to the gate and was finally able to go through customs and security AGAIN.

Managed to nap on the flight through to Bangkok, well... Sleep is probably more like it. I actually had to ask before we landed for an incoming passenger dec card as I'd slept through that. Long lines at Bangkok Airport passport control, but even then had to wait for my bags. I,'d forgotten how massive the new airport was though. Still looks almost new, super clean and no more smokers lounges which I remember from last time. 

I was able to check straight into my next flight and drop my bags off which was a nice relief. Found a little cafe for some MORE food to fill in the time, this time a green papaya salad. Women serving me laughed at how white I was, putting her arm next to mine in case it wasn't already clear enough!

Then back through security, for the first time having to take out my iPad. Wandered the shops for about an hour, then grabbed a drink at another cafe shop and sat for a while before heading to the gate. Flight was delayed for bout an hour and had a moment of panic when I realized that they had made a last minute gate change but hadn't announced it.

Again flight was uneventful,  it full, presumably because trains weren't running which was how I had hoped to make the journey from Bangkok. Silly floods. At Chiang Mai airport the bags took forever, got in a cab and dropped at the backpackers around 9pm or so local. Two Irish girls in the room were very chatty and friendly. Cheap and cheerful accommodation, average wifi but clean. Shower literally over the toilet and pretty much runs slightly off from cold. Not that it bothered me to much after 24 hours of traveling. And then it was off to bed, very boring I know! 


Advertisement



4th November 2011

Enjoy your trip
Hi honey. Mum's been keeping me up to date. I hope you keep your feet dry and enjoy the trip. I'm sure your looking forward to Christmas as much as I am. Love Judy & Geoff

Tot: 0.278s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.095s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb