Let the Solo Travel begin!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand
July 4th 2011
Published: July 4th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Traveling again, this time by myself. The first solo adventure I've ever had and I'm terrified. The flight to Bangkok was a very long one. When I arrived and was being taken to the hotel I suddenly remembered what Thailand looked like and smelled like, everything from the last time I was here immediately came back.

I was in a simple hotel for the first night just relaxing and letting time slow down to a halt. I made friends with a little kitty and got a Thai Massage from a really nice lady named Lynn. I also managed to snipe a few pictures of a gecko before he scurried off. Being there all day was sort of hard, it was lonely and there wasn't much to do. I was next to an empty parking lot...but to my surprise around 4PM it transformed into a market of it's own. Really low key but still something to end a slow day with.

The next day I flew to Chiang Mai which is where I am now. I'm staying at Spicy Thai Backpackers and couldn't be happier. Within 10 minutes of being here I met people who were planning on going on trekks and visiting Tigers. What was going to be a 1 day stay has very quickly turned into 5. The first night here I sat around getting to know people. The owner of the hostel included. They have this thing in chiang mai where you can go talk to a monk and ask him any questions you'd like. We found out the owner of the hostel was a monk for several years so we all gathered round a table and just asked him questions instead. It was very interesting some of the things he was telling is. There are about 247 or so rules that the monks must follow and anyone practising Buddhism in Thailand is recommended to be a monk at least once in their life. Even if it's 1 day, 1 month, 1 year, a lifetime whatever. I won't even try to describe all he said as I'd do a horrible job translating lets just say it was awesome.

After chatting with him about 8 of us hopped in the Hostel's tuk tuk and headed for the Sunday market. This market was really cool, it wasn't too crowded and there were tons of variety in the things being sold. The street food was pretty good too. Overall it was a great night.

Tomorrow will be temples and tigers oh my!






Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement



Tot: 0.135s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 17; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0768s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb