Journal day 13 - Bangkok to Chiang Mai.


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand
February 17th 2011
Published: February 21st 2011
Edit Blog Post

Had a big of a sleep-in. Bit knackered after flight. Wondering what happening to the 15th February? I flew from the night of the 14th and arrived on the afternoon of the 16th.

Had some breakfast in the little restaurant part of the hotel which is part of the lobby. Noticed there's a tourist company in the hotel beside the reception area. Also noticed they are TAT affiliated which means they are officially licensed. I'd read that a lot of them aren't and you can quite easily get ripped off and pay way over the top prices for trips. But this one seemed to be fine.

I sat at the counter talking to the woman to see if see could help me plan out my itinerary and after spending the morning chatting I walked away with a packed schedule to keep me busy for the next 7 days. The plan based around journeying up north to the city of Chiang Mai, seeing temples complex including the apparently important Wat Phra That Doi Suthep, a 3 day jungle trek, elephant riding, bamboo rafting, white water rafting, swimming in waterfalls, and sleepovers in 2 different tribe villages, most notably a longneck tribe. Then up to Chiang Rai to be the 'White Temple' complex, boat trip around the Golden Triangle and more! It'll probably be the end of me.

I planned to set out tomorrow to allow me a day to see the grand palace in Bangkok but turns out I had to get today's train as tomorrows is full. But I'll have another day or 2 when I get back to see the palace etc.
Now on the overnight train all the way up to Chiang Mai. On the train there's a little cafe where I met and talked with Melissa, a friendly girl from Oregan, US, who's been living in Bangkok for 4 months now teaching English to 6 year old Thai children. We had a beer and chatted as the train rumbled it's way up the bulk of the country. She's visiting Chiang Mai for a long weekend but hasn't anything planned so she might be able to join me for day or two for some temples and a day of trekking.

Now for a sleep as the train keeps a'rolling. Chiang Mai in the morning.

Link to Pictures: Bangkok Pics

Advertisement



Tot: 0.183s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0599s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb