#14--BangYuck


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand
July 12th 2007
Published: July 19th 2010
Edit Blog Post

7/9/07 to 7/12/07
Bangkok is gross.
There, I said it.
It smells like something maggots would be in.
It is an irritating hectic, as if New York and Yangon were combined into one city and then everyone started walking slowly.
The best part about this leg of my journey was reuniting with Dan and seeing Billy. The three of us had a great time comparing notes on our last two weeks of life and travel, and pioneering through the streets and rivers of Bangkok. As far as sightseeing goes, we were able to complete our checklist in less than one day.

It was difficult to be impressed after Burma. I liked the detailed mosaics and grand-scale architecture, but the repeated use of gold, green, and red was like an over decorated Christmas tree to me and a little on the gaudy side. Some of the sights included the largest reclining Buddha in the world, the royal palace and temple (home to the famous Jade Buddha), and a huge solid gold buddha. There was nothing unique about the market scenes in Bangkok, but it is always fun finding foreign treasures and haggling for discounts.

The night life at Bangkok was fun, unreal, decadent, disgusting, amusing, titillating, and unmentionable. I'm sure there's a shirt that reads, "What you see in Bangkok stays in Bangkok (as it is not legal in other parts of the world)." Travelers from around the planet take advantage of this no-holds-barred atmosphere which features shows that can involve ping pong balls, yards and yards (and yards) of colored ribbon, gymnastic rings and legal prostitutes. The high-pressure sales pitches from street-side advertisers along with the stage performances make Vegas look like Romper Room. It teetered more on freakshow rather than entertainment.And as the T-shirt says...

The best time spent in Bangkok BY FAR was when Billy and I spent a couple days at the Peninsula--one of the world's leading hotels. The skyline views from our balcony on the 32nd floor were stunning, even when enveloped in mist and clouds. The food and service were exquisite, as was the eighty minute Thai massage. I had never had a massage before and generally felt uncomfortable being touched. I knew it was time to trash that limitation and stretch beyond my comfort zone--and am I ever glad I did. A new world has opened up for me; a more relaxed, peaceful, and fearlessly vulnerable possibility. I think I will be experiencing a massage at least once a month.

As a sidenote, I was amused by the thoughts that passed through my mind during the massage. I tried to envision released tensions but found myself remembering the last names of the Golden Girls and creating categories for $25,000 pyramid (then playing them in my head...what the hell?). The most repeated thought was the scene from Truth or Dare when Madonna had her neck cracked. I kept fearing my masseuse would try a move like that and break mynot-quite-relaxed-enough neck. That would sure suck.

P.S. Zbornek, Nyland, Devereaux and PetrilloLOL

Advertisement



Tot: 0.273s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 63; dbt: 0.1089s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb