#13--Burmese Reflection


Advertisement
Asia » Myanmar
July 9th 2007
Published: July 19th 2010
Edit Blog Post

7/9/07
I am sitting at HeHo (HEEEYYY...HOOOO!!) airport awaiting a flight to Yangon. From there, I will part ways with Chris and head to Bangkok to reunite with Dan for 30+ more days and six more countries of travel. I am most excited to join Dan today, and Billy tonight and share time and new experiences in Thailand. For now, I am reflecting on the last ten days in Myanmar:

WHAT I'LL MISS MOST...
1) First and foremost, I will miss Chris. We spend most of our time laughing. She is someone I can play with, talk to, learn from and quietly sit next to and do nothing. I first saw this when she showed me around Vietnam two winters ago, and even moreso as we experienced Burma together. We travel well together.
2) I will miss overcoming the unique challenges only this type of travel can produce. Most of these challenges come from personal blindspots that glare in the spotlight when confronted by unfamiliarity; overcome by recognizing and changing unrecognized position-taking.
3) I will miss the adventure and newness
4) I will miss the friendliest people I have ever met on this planet--complete strangers who smiled and waved as we walked or drove by. 5) I will miss the culture: the peace, the religion, and the good food.

WHAT I WILL NOT MISS AT ALL!!!
1) I will not miss the times it was unbearably hot.
2) I will not miss the use of toilet paper for dinner napkins.
3) I will not miss being unable to use an ATM card, internet, or telephone at whim
4) I will not miss having weird bugs fly on me
5) I will not miss how anal the people are over American money. They won't take it if it has a minute tear, wrinkle, or spot, yet they give Burmese money that looks like it was used cleaning urinals.

AND MOST IMPORTANTLY, HOW THIS TRIP HAS AFFECTED ME... I feel this trip realigned me. Chris caught me singing in the shower and while we were waiting in line...I haven't had a song in my heart for months. I feel revived, yet relaxed. I feel like I once again possess the focused, loving energy that use to define me, but in the last two years has become unreliable, chaotic, and draining. This trip made me enjoy writing again. I feel like I see the fun and opportunity that surrounds me, and I am so eager to keep experiencing this joy---both on vacation, and when I return home.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.22s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 62; dbt: 0.0514s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb