BANGKOK!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand
December 28th 2009
Published: January 2nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

I don’t really know where to start because the past few days have just been incredible. I was feeling a wee bit home sick over Christmas because it was my first time away from Santa Clause, but don’t worry I’m over it. (Wise and wonderful Auntie Peckett - you were right!) It also took a few days to get into the Hong Kong lifestyle and being in such a busy city. Any way, that’s all history …..

I’ve arrived safely in Bangkok and I’ve absolutely fallen in love with Thailand. I am here with Jodie and Iris (Jodie’s room-mate from Hong Kong). Iris is Chinese so it’s a great opportunity to test out my Mandarin. Her sister is a qualified social worker in Hong Kong and would like to meet me when I’m back from Thailand. When I was in Beijing it was very difficult to find out about social work because the profession is not very well developed In China. The Chinese associate social workers with communist government and are perceived as some sort of secret police. There is a possibility that I will be shadowing Iris’s sister for a day which would be really interesting. I’m sure we can learn a lot from each other.

Bangkok is a crazy place full of lots of weird and wonderful people. Although there’s a strong police presence which is a bit frightening as they are armed with guns. The roads are absolute chaos and there doesn’t appear to be any rules. It’s more chaotic than Beijing and that says a lot! Our ‘hostel’ is more of an apartment/ 5 star hotel; we couldn’t have asked for any thing better. Thanks hostelworld.com! Although there was a lizard in our apartment last night which freaked me out. It’s a Dad job to get rid of insects and creepy crawlies!

The temperature has been around 37 degrees so we have been taking it easy, it’s exhausting walking about. It’s such a hard life, eh? We took a boat trip along the Chao Phraya River and stopped off at a roof restaurant to watch the sun set. Thailand has these three wheeled car type things called tuk-tuks. They are irresistible tourist traps and I just HAD to go in one! We got one back to our apartment and I purposely chose the one with flashing disco lights haha. There are no seatbelts or doors so you literally have to hold on for your life! I preferred to just close my eyes!!




Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement



Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 62; dbt: 0.0557s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb