Arrival


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand
October 18th 2009
Published: November 7th 2009
Edit Blog Post

October 18, 2009

We are quickly approaching my second week in Thailand. Strange how far removed I already feel from my life and yet how quickly time has passed. I have been thrown back into being a student for 3 short weeks to learn how to be a teacher. Crazy, considering the rigorous requirements back home to become a teacher, I wonder that anyone would allow us to teach their children. Here, teachers are respected, even revered. In the social classes of Thailand, the King and the Monks are pretty much on par at the top (though high monks are above the king), and next in the social hiearchy comes teachers.

I arrived in Bangkok after 10pm. As I stepped out of the airport, a wave of heat hit me. Even then, the humidity spread, a blanket of cloying moisture. I went in search of the friendly van that was going to take me to my hotel. In my first example of Thai hospitality emerged. I asked a young women made up with doll like perfection if she knew where the Silver Gold Inn’s van was. It turns out she was from a competing hotel but she went out of her way to help me. She took out her phone and called my van driver who she evidently knew personally and asked him to come out and find me. I can’t imagine that happening in the States.

The next day I took a taxi into Bangkok. Bangkok is simply enormous. I went straight to the train station to get my ticket to Chiang Mai. Standing in line with me were 4 Backpackers, 3 English and 1 Scottish. With the only necessary commonality of the English language, we quickly began talking. As the train didn’t leave until 10, we had some time to get to know each other. Jet lagged and still not sure what Country I was in. I followed the boys to get a Tuk Tuk. These three wheeled wonders are open air vehicles that line the streets. Having white skin will inevitably raise your fare at a good 20 Baht but usually you can work out something reasonable with some heavy negotiating. My crazy new English friend negotiated 10 Baht each (about 30 cents) but we were going to try to fit five into what usually carries 2 or 3. So we all clamored in with me on a lap, feet out the window and everyone holding on to their possessions and the sides for dear life. By the time we arrived at Koa San road (a notorious tourist street) all of us were sticky and smelling just a bit like each other’s sweat. I had my first street food (possibly one of the best things about Thailand). For all those who argue otherwise, the street food is safe and delicious. Cooked right there, most is delicious and safe and probably worth any food poisoning which might occasional occur. After some Pad Thai and spring rolls for about $1 we went off to drink! Three British boys and a Scotsman and what else are you to do. Eric, the Scottish guy and I ventured off after a beer and went to go see my first Buddhist temple in Thailand, Wat Pho. The great sprawling campus of the Wat is guarded by stone giants. Their detailed almost comic features are according to my guide books compliments of China. Many look Chinese, others appear to be comic depictions of westerners.

As we walked through the Wat, from enclave to enclave where Thai’s came to make prayers, the rain began coming down. First lightly dusting everything and then suddenly it began coming down in fat blobs. The heat of Bangkok still barely alleviated we huddled under a balcony with a small hoard of other refugees from the rain. We did not speak, just looked out and listened to the fat blops come raining on the roof and the grand spiritual center took on a new sheen as the rain covered it.

The rest of the day was uneventful. We played pool and the boys drank. We waited impatiently for our train where we would take an extended 18 hour ride due to delays. My new friend Eric tried to rest his head on my bony shoulder fairly unsuccessfully. I passed out unceremoniously into a jet lagged coma and woke up early the scenery passing by. I watched contently noting every strange tree, mountain valley and hut. All were beautiful to me. I had arrived.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0479s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb