Thailand-Cambodia-Thailand


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand
July 11th 2008
Published: July 11th 2008
Edit Blog Post

First Thai MealFirst Thai MealFirst Thai Meal

Jane a school teacher lives next door to the Rebirth Recovery Center where we were staying. Jane is a school teacher and also teaches English in the afternoon at her home. One day when we visited while she was teaching there were 25 kids. We visited the family farm where we enjoyed this Thai meal with Jane's husbands sister, brother in law and mother
The real purpose of a travel blog is to tell the story as it is happening, but since I was living it instead of recording it here I am with memories and photo's I would like to share.

I have been home for a few weeks now and keep thinking that I will get inspired to sit down and really do this right, but it doesn't seem likely at this time. I imagined all the free time I would have since I am not working, but have filled it with many things like, attending Unity Church, going to the gym more than usual, visiting friends and family, volunteering, and taking advantage of many free activities that seem to keep presenting themselves. My life is full and I am happily and meaningfully busy.

So, I have decided to Just Do It and have one less thing that I could do each day. I will attempt to give you an idea about some of the places we went and some of the people we saw. I took soo many great pictures that it's been hard to just pick a few. I am putting my scrapbook (it's more of a photo ablum
Kanchanaburi Allied War CemeteryKanchanaburi Allied War CemeteryKanchanaburi Allied War Cemetery

Cemetery is for the Allied POW's who died in captivity during WWII
since I am trying very hard to keep it simple) together and if you are interested just let me know and if at all possible I would love to show you the rest of the pictures and really share the stories with you.

It was such an amazing trip and although we did not journal much when I look at the pictures I have the feeling and memories of being right there and have the memory imprinted as if I can see, hear and mostly feel what it was like to be the foreigner but not feeling on the outside.




Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

Walking through a farm to the lakeWalking through a farm to the lake
Walking through a farm to the lake

That's Lex with the kids, she is volunteering from the US for 6 months.
Typical mealTypical meal
Typical meal

Baan Unrak Orphanage is home to more than 100 Thai and Bermese children
SongthaewSongthaew
Songthaew

Typical transportatin, a truck with bench seats
Floating MarketFloating Market
Floating Market

Shopping by boat, food and anything else you would find in a store
Khao San RoadKhao San Road
Khao San Road

Many backpackers and foreigners, great shopping


Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 43; dbt: 0.043s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb