Thailand highlights and lowlights


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand
January 30th 2007
Published: February 3rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Aaahh Thailand. A place where I learned to test my limits in many regards to their fullest extent. My experiences in this country have left me stronger, way more open minded, more adventurous and above all else, very happy. As with Europe, I will leave you with a few things that when I think of these, I will always think of Thailand... In no particular order, here they are:
1. Whether you are female or male, you are referred to as "sir".
2. It is not uncommon to see a family of 4 riding on a scooter.
3. More 7-11s than at home.
4. Spitting in doors is completely acceptable.
5. The buses have "flight attendants" bringing you food, drinks and wet-naps.
6. Don't be fooled guys, the most beautiful women are men.
7. A "Thailand tatoo" is proof of poor scooter skills. I left with one... Temporary though!
8. The rasta culture is bigger than in Jamaica, I'm sure of it.
9. Cockroaches and rats are common roomates in guest houses.
10. I can count how many warm showers I've had in the past 2 months on one hand.
11. Cows, goats and roosters roaming everywhere.
12. To-go street food (rice, fish sauce and curry) and to go drinks served in plastic bags.
13. Regular Thai table condiments: dried chile, fish sauce with fresh chile, vinegar with fresh chile and sugar.
14. Mega-phone trucks announcing Muai Thai boxing matches (the heavy weight category is 135lbs by the way!
15. Stray dogs and mangy cats.
16. Singha = good beer, Chang = lucky lager equivalent.
17. Iced coffee with sweet and condensed milk.
18. Meat on a stick, some good, some too indestinguishable to try.
19. No garbage cans anywhere!
20. Shoes off rule before entering many shops.
21. Sansome whiskey buckets - to be shared: whisky, soda, coke and red bull
22. Thai people are the friendliest you will ever meet.
Well, I think I've scratched the surface, but that's about it. I really loved Thailand and as usual, could have easily spent more time there. As I've said before, I'll be back...

Advertisement



5th February 2007

Man you're covering some ground, girl!
Wow you're a one woman whirlwind! I still have such a hard time believing you're doing all this travelling. I do enjoy reading about it though. Not much is new here in boring old Canada. You might have heard already, but uncle Grant has endured a 7 hour back operation and everything seems to be ok so far. Hopefully it fixes his pain. So do you think you'll ever come home? It must be a toss up, more new adventures or back home to family and friends. I think I'd be going for the more adventures option. Though you do have one great family! Take care! Jody

Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0315s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb