Khao Sok NP -- good but not ideal


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand
March 29th 2018
Published: March 29th 2018
Edit Blog Post

Compared to Khao Yai NP in the North, Khao Sok has a couple of things that makes it not ideal for wildlife watching and has missing infrastructure.



First, let's say that the park is divided in two parts:

1- On East side, near the dam, you can access park with boat tours. Personally, when I checked what was offered in those tours, I find it too expensive. It's true that the landscape with the limestone mountains is dramatic. But since I drove from the North all the way up to Khao Sok, I saw limestone mountains all over the place during the trip. Maybe it's not the same for you. Also, if you hope to see animals from the boat tours, you might, but it's not very likely. There are some caves to visit, but I saw a couple in my last trips, and these ones were not out of the ordinary, so I pass. But for you, if it's different, then enjoy the ride.

2- On south side of the park, you have main entrance. Before the entrance, you have kind of a little village with many accommodations, restaurants, etc...

In the park you have 2 trails, but in reality mainly one. The main trail is large, (in fact it's a dirt road), and goes for 10km+ along a river. The other trail, is very very steep, not maintained and completely blocked after 1km. It's also full of leeches, even if in dry season. Back to main wide trail. Enter very early if you want to see interesting wildlife, (something else than usual macaques), as hordes of youngsters start to invade the park around 9am, to swim in the river, at the different pools. From main trail, I saw interesting things, when I went early, (6h30am), but also when you go on little side trails you have here and there, (good but watch out for leeches!!).

Considering what I mentioned above, the park is okay, but is more a "waterfall/river/picnic" park, than a wildlife national park. So, If you love nature and animals very much, don't have much time, and choose where you go in Thailand, definitively go to Khao Yai instead.



Good thing, I saw one of the animals on my "list" : a monitor lizard. For my objectives then, it's 4 out of 5. More details in next blog entries to see if I reached my goal!!

Later I saw another one of a different specie, so it's a bonus!!! More on this later.

Next blog will cover Khao Lak and surroundings.


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement



Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 17; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0258s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb