Monks and Women Don't Mix: Fun Facts About Thailand


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Western Thailand » Kanchanaburi
May 5th 2005
Published: May 5th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Hi everyone!

I'm a dirty, dirty woman!

I have a few fun facts to share with you about Thailand. The best of the fun facts I have to share is about the Buddhist monks. As I mentioned before, Thailand is a very Buddhist country. Monks are everywhere here, and they stick out in the crowds here with their distinctive orange saffron dyed robes....kind of like big carrots....big holy carrots.

What is really interesting about these monks is that women are not allowed to touch them (nor can they touch women, and they won't). There are a few reasons for this: 1) Women bleed once a month, therefore they are ritually unclean 2) A monk must have pure thoughts, and the touch of a woman might make one think indecent things. These guys are really hardcore.

Well, being the dirty, bleeding temptress that I am, I almost accidently bumbed into one while we were in Bangkok. We were waiting on a dock for a ferry to come pick us up when I was laughing about something with Shani Blair. I backed up a little while laughing not realizing the holy men were behind me. Someone tapped me on the back and I turned around to see the frightened monks (I am a fierce creature!) backing up and the man who tapped me asked me to please back up. I apologized, moved, and went about my business. It's nice to be viewed as threatening for once.

Other fun facts include:
1. It's illegal to own a copy of "The King and I" in Thailand. They view the movie as an insult to their culture.

2. People like you to drink out of straws here. Why? I don't know.

3. There are creepy manikins in some of the shops and stores that look like the manical clown creature from Steven King's "It."

4. Jasmine flowers can be your best friend...and air freshener.

5. Don't touch your feet on anything other than the ground. Thais think feet are gross, and you could potentially insult one by not strategically keeping your feet where they belong.

6. According to the JEATH Prisoner of War museum, Ben Franklin looks a lot like George Washington, and Otto von Bismark looks strikingly like Napoleon.

More fun facts will follow soon.

Advertisement



23rd April 2011

hi
Hi the information in this site is wonderful and useful, please visit my blog http://www.factsntips.com/ for more interesting facts. Please suggest me your valuable suggestions and advices through mail

Tot: 0.171s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.1178s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb