Weekend in Kanchanaburi


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Western Thailand » Kanchanaburi
September 10th 2008
Published: September 10th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hello my chums and family

Well I have a lot to fill you in with as been very busy for last 5 days non-stop, just the way I like it (but hard work). I’ll start with Friday… I had a good day with the girls we went swimming in the morning. I had to wear shorts and T-shirt over my swim costume and the shorts were baggy and kept dropping down when I was in the water lol!! No I wasn’t trying to Mooney them I have grown out of that now!!! Well maybe lol!! I had one of the little girls Nit hanging onto my neck most of the time and kept trying to dunk her in the water (its not cruel she enjoyed it honest). It was nice being in the water during the hot morning even though I had children clinging onto me. I spent the afternoon on the ward playing with the girls as it was cleaning day at the day centre and I seem to get out of that, not complaining. It was a quick turn around when I got home as I needed to shower and then pack for my w/end away with my German friend Masha. She arrived in Bangkok Fri am from Ko Phi Phi (beach down south). I got the mini bust at 4.30pm and it took 1 hour to get into Bangkok (on good day should take 20mins) the traffic was bad and it was raining (the Thai’s don’t like to get wet so use the all mode of transport). I then got the sky train close to where Masha’s hotel was (and where I was staying for the night). I then waited at the taxi rank for over 45mins and the taxi’s weren’t picking hardly any1 up as some of the roads were closed (due to protestors) and causing lots of traffic and the rain didn’t help. So I got fed up of waiting so jumped into a Tuk Tuk and he charged ridiculous amount but still cheap for us and I cut him down by half. I got to the hotel and the view from the balcony was amazing we could see all of the skyscrapers in Bangkok, well not them all of course. We went out for dinner after catching up and paid more money than usual as made a little effort and again it was still cheap. I have to keep reminding myself that it is Thai money and stop being stingy as when you convert to the pound its dead cheap. We then headed to Koh San Road and it was pretty late by now as I didn’t arrive to the hotel till bout 7pm in the end. Koh San was busy as ever and buzzing with lady boys, bars, market stools and lots of backpackers. We got a beer from the shop. It was soo nice to have a cold beer my 1st in 3weeks, can you believe it?? We drank in the street watching all around us and met loads of other travelers and did lots of socializing (as all that knows me I love). We met some guys from Germany and an English lad, only 19yrs and had traveled loads. So I called him my adopted little brother (sorry Neez and Imran, and Noor if you want to be called my little bro lol!) and gave him my words of wisdom lol!! He was into his martial arts so as you can imagine our topics and traveling. We then ended up in a club and by the time we got back to the hotel it was nearly 6am so we decided to watch the sun rise over Bangkok from our balcony. We were getting picked up at 6.50am so thought it was pointless to sleep and could do that on the bus, boy we were wrong. We got on the mini bus and were last pick up. There was a dad with his daughters (from Germany) and bout 5 Lebanese guys who came over to train and fight Mauy Thai. There were so noisy singing and shouting. I told them to shut up as we have had no sleep but I think that just encouraged them to talk to us more and keep us awake. Some how Masha managed to sleep but I had one of the men in front of me and kept talking to me. Our first stop was at the floating market. It was very good but prices too steep and I know I can get things half the price else where. And I was hanging out so just got a cold drink and fruit. We then got back in the bus and were taken to a snake farm. Masha slept in the bus so I ended up going in with the Lebanese guys and was quite amusing watching them trying to be macho. They put on a snake show but weren’t too impressed in that and thought was bit cruel. We then had lunch and then stopped off at museum and a bridge. It did look nice but bit boring for me. Our next stop was the best for me as we went to the tiger temple. The tigers are looked after by the monks and volunteers and although were told are just very drowsy but not sedated (I don’t think they were as saw them walking later). I was able to have my photo taken with the big tigers and baby tigers and pet them too. And they had wild war hogs, buffalo, donkeys. Peacocks, ponies walking around. One of the baby tigers was brought out for us to play with the handler. He said we could try to pick him up and one of the Lebanese men tried and got scared when she growled. The guide then said who else wants to try? So I said straight away “I will”, and I held her like she was a wild cat (all those who have worked with me know, I will not let a cat get the better of me and besides she was a baby). I did pick her up and then I went to the Lebanese men and said look I’m braver than you; I don’t think it went down well lol!! After the tigers Masha and I had to change buses as we were staying in Kanchanaburi on a river house accommodation and the rest of the bus were just on a day trip (thank goodness). I met a lovely couple from Holland who just arrived in Thailand so I was advising them about Thailand and teaching them some Thai.

We stayed 2 nights in this accommodation and we were taken to the restaurant bit and got our dinner and met the other guests. The place was nice but basic and for backpackers. At this point I was up for about 36hours. So when we got to our accom we chilled out and then there was a big storm that lit up the whole river. We went to bed about 9pm which I did need and slept v well. We woke about 9am and had breakfast (we got a knock on our door for breakfast). Our trip on the Sunday was a rafting down the river, which was v calm and relaxing not like rafting down Zambezi river Kathy and Sam. We crossed an Indian Jones look like bridge. Then we were picked up by the mini bus once again and taken for an elephant trek through the forest. Its was for 45mins in the baking sun and I think that was long enough as it was quite uncomfortable. We then went back to the river restaurant and had lunch with the others. Then was taken to a place where British and Australian prisoner of wars built a railway line from Thailand to Burma for the Japanese during the 2nd world war. It was interesting and didn’t get bored with this museum, we were able to walk the track which is called Hell fire place. It was a 2.5km walk in the heat up and down through the forest and seeing some of the broken railway. By then we were ready for dinner and a shower. We then went back to the river restaurant had dinner and then was taken up the river by power long boat to our accom. Masha and I had a shower and then went to join our fellow neighbors for a chat and cold beer on the river. We socialized with 2 Dutch couples, an Ozzie and Masha and I. The whole time there I didn’t meet any other British I was a minority. As usual I was last to bed with the Dutch couple I met on the bus (I know you wont be surprised, Saz, Philippa and Jane).

The next day its Monday now, still with me?? We had to be up at 7am so we waited to hear for our knocks and decided to get up on the 3rd one as it got a bit louder. We went to the waterfalls and climbed up through the rockery paths, streams, broken bridges and forest to the 7th waterfall. And when I got there I stripped off and jumped into the water (I did have a bikini on didn’t want to scare the Thai’s). The water was soo lovely and the surroundings so beautiful but there were big fishes which nibbled at you, which didn’t hurt but just made you jump and maybe let out a little girly squeal (I’m afraid to say). After this we went to lunch and then headed back to Bangkok, a 3 hour journey which I slept a lot of it. We went to Masha’s hotel and then went to look around MBK (a huge shopping mall) and got some tea. I headed back to Pakkred that night and got back bout 11pm.

I went to work the next day v tired and did activities with the children lying down. I then said I’d go back into Bangkok after work so meet up with Masha as for her last night in Thailand. So once again had a late night and tonight after this will hit the deck.

I think this must be the longest I hope you have enjoyed it I know I have.

Love

Naz xxxxxxxxxxx



Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement

with 3 tigerswith 3 tigers
with 3 tigers

where is my right hand??


11th September 2008

wicked!!!!
Hey my lovely!!!!! Looks like your having an amazing time, I'm soooo jealous that you were so close to the tigers and you even had your hand up ones bum!!!! Speak to you soon hun Love and miss you xxxx
12th September 2008

hey naz-just been catching up with your latest blogs! sounds like you're having a great time! Hearing all the stories of bangkok and surroundings is bringing back memories!!ahhh! i know what you mean about the rafting if it was anything like our rafting trip-it' was more like punting down a river!lol! well continue to enjoy your trip, take care of yourself, don't drink too much chang beer...! xx

Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0256s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb