Hell Fire Pass


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Western Thailand » Kanchanaburi
October 17th 2007
Published: February 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Wednesday 17th October

Off to hell fire pass in one of the oldest jeeps still running with only the dirt holding it together.
30 or 40 minutes into the trip I’m suddenly getting very tired and the driver keeps blinking his eyes. I had an early night so this doesn’t make sense.
Slide my window open and feel better very quickly, the driver seems to perk up too.
It seems that Mr. Carbon Monoxide had made his way into the cabin, well that’s my guess because we were both fine after that.
Got to Hell Fire Pass, the museum is very good, but the guests from the buses were a bit rowdy.
Luckily I took the long way around which strangely had some steps up and plenty down but after the pass not many up.
Figure that one out, but it is the better way to go because not many go that way and the car park return is short with out the double back.
This is real aero guard territory and the temperature is much higher than the car park.
I’m amazed these guys moved so much rock by hand with such terrible conditions.
Stop off at Saiyok Noi waterfall which is very pretty with a lovely picnic area.
While we might spread a blanket or sit at a picnic table, the Thais spread their blanket/cloth on the table then sit on it.
As I go for my walk there is a beggar laying on the railway tracks with his crutch and begging bowl. When I return he is gone put the crutch and a pile of clothes remain.
Maybe he just grew legs. Amazing Thailand.
Next stop the war cemetery sad but very well maintained.
Check out the little stalls just out side the entrance, they have everything, sunglasses,
Watches, mannequin heads and even a wooden phallus all varnished and polished.
Just around the corner is the “new death railway museum, free tea and coffee for all admission museum, nice view” That view would actually be of the cemetery.

After dinner back at the resort I realise I need transport back to Bangkok tomorrow.
Ask hotel to get me a driver, they want 4100 baht. That’s about 120 AUD. I got there for 30 AUD and paid over the mark. Now I know I’m on the wrong side of the river but it’s too late to go anywhere else. Sh!t. I paid it but resolve to keep myself organised. If only they’d had a pistol, I would have felt much better about it.



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0471s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb