Thailand - Kanchanaburi - Heavenly waterfalls and daylight "monkey" robbery!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Western Thailand » Erawan NP
December 24th 2011
Published: January 18th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Thailand - Kanchanaburi - Heavenly waterfalls and daylight "monkey" robbery!

No sooner had I landed in Bangkok I would be on the move again to Kanchanaburi, this is where Maam and I would spend a few days before Gav would join us for the new year celebrations.

After taking a late night minivan from Bangkok and sitting in traffic for what seemed like hours we eventually arrived. Because it was late I couldn't really appreciate the setting but the following morning all was revealed. It was like a mini swamp or tropical jungle with a central walkway leading to several huts and bungalows, it was incredibly beautiful and so quiet, I couldn't have asked for more and I really wasn't anticipating it.

The next morning we hired a motorbike and set off to a well-known waterfall called Erawan falls. As you will see from the photos these falls are located within a forest and are set over seven accessible levels, you trek between 400 and 500 meters to each vantage point and simply jump into the most crystal clear warm water complete with gently cascading falls behind you, it was perfect!

Although the trek to the end of the trail is quite tough in flip flops it really is a must, you will not be disappointed. The final stop at level seven is very quiet because most people are too lazy to trek there which means it becomes the paradise setting it truly is.

Unfortunately every silver lining has a cloud and sadly my luck with the monkeys continued out here! In preparation for the trek we had bought chicken and rice from a market stall just outside the national park, Maam was very much looking forward to this because she had not eaten much and was carrying it like it was a royal treasure. Unfortunately for Maam she decided to put this precious commodity in my incapable hands whilst visiting the bathroom and this would prove to be the last time she saw it. I walked over to the falls and it looked so stunning I decided it was time to take some photos, I hadn't even seen any monkeys at this point, I laid my bag and the food on a table whilst I was happy snapping and from nowhere two lightning quick monkeys swooped in and grabbed the bag and were gone! I was just stood in amazement at what had just happened and it was so dam quick.

To make matters worse I now had to explain this to Maam, it's fair to say she was not impressed with me or the monkeys. I'm still not sure if she has forgiven me and I was left with a slightly grumpy trekking partner for a while! It was bloody funny in hindsight and I loved the fact that whilst I was trying to break the news to Maam about the "robbery" the monkeys were throwing the rubbish at us from the trees above, little sh*ts I hate them.

On to more positive things, we completed the trek and had a great time swimming in the plunge pools although the fish were a bit daunting for me, they were huge and plentiful in number, but I was informed I needed to "man up" and on that note Maam pushed me in.

Finally after soaking up more of the breath taking views on the way home we finished the night with a tasty BBQ at the night market and a few games of sh*thead. I felt I should have really let Maam win after losing the food but my competitive edge kicked in and I couldn't do it.

The last visit of our time here was to The Bridge over the River Kwae, this bridge was constructed during World War 2 and was built by prisoners of war including many British prisoners. It was an incredible sight and made all the more interesting when we are all walking along it and a train came along. Time to get cozy in one of the small recesses and wait for the train to pass, it was an interesting moment. I could never imagine this happening in England, people would be getting run over and claims direct would be working overtime. I do love Asia for the fact they are still expected to use their common sense and basic survival skills instead of living in a nanny state that the west has truly become. After watching the sun set and a quick visit to the market nearby we headed off for some crazy motor bike riding in the dark, oh how I love the roads here!

A brilliant time had in another paradise area of Thailand, this country really does have so many incredible places to visit!

The next morning it was time to enjoy a full English breakfast before heading back to Bangkok for Christmas and the imminent arrival of my travelling wing man Gav-lar, which will no doubt produce the blog I'm sure many of you have been waiting for from Thailand, the darker side to Bangkok.


Additional photos below
Photos: 25, Displayed: 25


Advertisement

Kanchanaburie - Erawan FallsKanchanaburie - Erawan Falls
Kanchanaburie - Erawan Falls

Maam after a quick swim
Kanchanaburie - Kanchanaburie -
Kanchanaburie -

The view from the road side on the way back
Kanchanaburie - Erawan FallsKanchanaburie - Erawan Falls
Kanchanaburie - Erawan Falls

It's me again soaking up the rays
Kanchanaburie - Erawan fallsKanchanaburie - Erawan falls
Kanchanaburie - Erawan falls

Maam relaxing at the top of the falls
Kanchanaburie - Erawan fallsKanchanaburie - Erawan falls
Kanchanaburie - Erawan falls

The very top of the falls
Kanchanaburie - Kwae BridgeKanchanaburie - Kwae Bridge
Kanchanaburie - Kwae Bridge

And then a train came along
Kanchanaburie - Kwae BridgeKanchanaburie - Kwae Bridge
Kanchanaburie - Kwae Bridge

Maam working the camera :)
Kanchanaburie - Kwae BridgeKanchanaburie - Kwae Bridge
Kanchanaburie - Kwae Bridge

Me on the bridge and Maam hoping a train was coming!
Kanchanaburie - Kwae BridgeKanchanaburie - Kwae Bridge
Kanchanaburie - Kwae Bridge

This guy was keen to get the right photo. I just wanted to kich him up the arse! Father Ted style
Kanchanaburie - Kwae BridgeKanchanaburie - Kwae Bridge
Kanchanaburie - Kwae Bridge

The train about 50cm's from the heads of people to the side of the track


Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 12; qc: 59; dbt: 0.0597s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb