DAY 1 – Bangkok to Hua Hin


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Southern Thailand
January 14th 2015
Published: January 19th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Today was an easy day of 59km which was awesome, we started with an hour bus ride out of the middle of Bangkok and got onto our bikes – as we rode out it was nice and flat and easy roads, we went through small villages and also fishing villages where we rode over a very small rickety bride in single file which was a little challenging. I rode with the AMAZING Mai Thew on the first leg – she just completed the Northern ride of 800km and is also completing the southern ride of 800km which is AMAZING.

Let me give you some back ground on Mai Thiew - she is the founder and Mother of all the kids at Home Hug orphanage and at this particular orphanage all the kids are either HIV, neglected or abused so have a very special spot in my heart. Mai Thiew was also diagnosed with Pancreatic Cancer about 6 years ago and has had no western medicine – she has gone through highs and lows but always keeps strong for the children to show them that she is strong and anything is possible – this is also why she does the ride every year. In previous years she has been on the Tandem bike but this year she riding her own bike so 1600km is an absolute AMAZING effort!!!! I am very excited to be riding with Mai Thew again this year it puts everything into perspective and when I am in pain I will just think of her and how much pain she is in and she never complains. I have met a lot of inspiring people in my life but Mai Thiew is the most truly amazing and inspiring person I have ever met in my life!

As we continued on into lunch it was a nice beach side town with great views and then it was another 30kms to the last water spot where we re-grouped and rode another 5km into the hotel. The hotel is a nice beachside town with a great pool so now it is beer o’clock and off to the night markets tonight. Tomorrow is a big day on the bike with 125km so will be testing me. My bum is not as sore as I was expecting but tomorrow I am sure it will be VERY sore!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0305s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb