Koh Phangan


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Southern Thailand
March 7th 2009
Published: March 7th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I'm into my third day on the beach, and find that I'm settling into island life really well. We took the night train from Bangkok, then hopped a ferry to Koh Phangan which is absolutely beautiful. The internet is a little slow here so I can't upload pics but I don't think anyone would want to see it anyway because you'd be incredibly jealous. We are staying on a beach called Haad Yuan, which is a kind of a secluded paradise. We each have our own little bungalows just off the beach, and we've strung up about 4 hammocks so far on my porch and are probably going to spend the night in them for the first time tonight. We're about a 10 minute boat taxi ride from Haad Rin which is the beach were the full moon party is on Tuesday night. It's also where the little town is located so it's nice that we're on a really quiet beach away from everything. Yesterday we went there because Free and Easy made up this crazy scavenger hunt that took around 3 hours and involved some really interesting things like tattooing and human paramids. I spent the rest of the day reading my book in my hammock. I remember when Sean told me about his life in Thailand involving hanging in hammocks and playing frisbee all day, I thought I would get really bored of that......but apparently not! Last night we had supper then made our way about 20 minutes on foot to this crazy rave party in the jungle. It was a little nuts, but very happy that I saw it all. Today I did a little relaxing and recovering in the hammock, some exploring, and a lot of swimming in the ocean. My hardest decision was what to eat because the food is really great here. All of the restaurants are on the rocks overlooking the beach....it's stunning. Every night they play movies outside, so we're all taking a break tonight and catching a movie. I think we're here another 7 or 8 nights and I don't expect I'll do much more than what I've been doing these last two days.

I got word that it has been a bit crappy for weather there this week....I'm hoping it improves for you guys! I'll be thinking of all of you while I'm working on my tan!

Court

Advertisement



Tot: 0.128s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0994s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb