Day 1 in Thailand - Off to Ko Samui


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Southern Thailand » Hat Yai
January 9th 2004
Published: February 28th 2006
Edit Blog Post

In Hatyai, we sat down at a restaurant (near the travel agency where we alighted) and discussed over some iced-cold chrysanthemum tea on what to do next. We agreed on another continuing, tiring trip to Ko Samui, instead of stopping at Hatyai for an overnight stay.

< I guessed we would have both agreed on staying overnight in Hatyai, if we know we would be shoved into a mini van/bus for another hellish, long bus ride. Well, it’s my fault for suggesting that we go all the way. :P >

There were 9 travellers heading for Ko Samui. 9 of us squashed into a mini (and I really do mean it when I said it's small), 10-seater van/bus on a hot day, not very pleasant I must say. But the excitement of the trip keeps my adrenaline pumping; I feel alive! Well, sort of… If I didn’t die from suffocation at the end of the ride that is.
We finally arrived at the pier after hours of bumpy, suffocating ride. The driver handed us tickets for the ferry to Ko Samui. The sky was turning grey, with dark clouds hovering and strong winds to boot. It was going to rain soon.

< The sky was turning grey and it was getting oh-so-very windy, I really enjoyed the refreshing wind in my face though. It was a welcomed change from the stuffy mini bus. >

It started raining soon after we boarded the ferry. The slow, rhythmic rocking of the ferry lulled me to sleep. What else could be better, than sleeping in when it rains? Mmmm… What a pleasure…



Advertisement



Tot: 0.129s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0838s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb