Thailand Round 2


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Trang
May 8th 2008
Published: June 15th 2008
Edit Blog Post

If I could describe Thailand in one word, it would be hilarious. But seriously, hilarious. First off, all of the other "teachers" are super fun and funny and just like me. They try to be as weird, but really, let's be honest, I am as strange as they come. We teach for 3 hours a day. My first day was a little shaky. I tried to talk and got a whole lot of blank stares. It made me feel great. Nothing like being completely awkward for 3 hours....I have to speak so slow it is ridiculous. Like insane. If I don't sound out every word they can't even get like the jist of it. Oh well. Helps me fill up the lesson time. Yesterday went better. We talked about food and such and they laughed at American customs. Katie and Celia--any idea what to do for more lessons? Hah...it's only the third day and I am struggling. The last 15-20 minutes of the day all of the kids get together (i say kids, but these slanty eyed folk are in college) and we play like simon says or something. So yesterday they are all circled up and me and a few other teachers are dancing in the middle to the YMCA. I obviously pulled out the worm. You wouldn't thought I turened water into wine. Needless to say, I am now a God. Speaking of being a God, they like worship us. Most of them have never heard a native Englsih speaker before. No joke, we have like coach buses and the students are already on when we get on (4 of us to a bus). Everytime...it never fails....and explosion of applause and every person says hi. In addition, they want to buy everything for me. An average meal is like $3. so pricey and they like go everything for me. Walk me to food, serve it. THrow out my trash. Carry my bag for me. It is crazy. I guess it is the culture or whatever but I feel like a God damn aryian (sp) princess. Today one of my steundts asked me what damn meant. How do you explain that? I told herto say it a lot. Yesterday I couldn't get them to talk so I started tal;king about boyfriends and the qualities they look for and what celebrities they think are hot. Good teacher. Stick to what I know...

Today I think we are talking about food and then my house. How do I explain a 4 bedroom house when they live in like shanty towns? (ok, not true. they are all at least middle class. School only costs $1000 a year though. rough life). I am afraid to tell them American prices because I think they will have a heart attack or something of the sort.

Last night we sat outside at a beer garden at our hotel, watched soccer on a projector and wateched a life band. I played asshole (card game, mom) with Jim Coffin who is a Dean at Ball State. My life is ridiculous. hhahaha


Shit. I have to teach in 4 minutes which inc\volves walking down 3 flights of stairs then back up 3 flights of stairs. Somewhere in there I have to poop. hahah Just thoguht you'd like to know. More craziness will come. Don't you worry.



Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

american fried riceamerican fried rice
american fried rice

bascially includes ketchup and a chicken wing. yum.


Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0444s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb