Surat Thani... The real Thailand???


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Surat Thani
July 24th 2008
Published: July 24th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hi,

So I wasn't as lucky as AK and Colin. I was 3 hours late to change my flight from Krabi-Bangkok (45 vs 48 hours) so I had to make my way from Ko Samui to Surat Thani on a boat.

On Ko Samui we stayed in a little north east corner of beach. It was so serene. Last night Mark, Krystal and I had a romantic dinner on the beach.. sand btw our toes and waves lapping next to us. Mark's shark was soooo good!! My crab was tasty but too much effort after a couple glasses of white wine. Today we chilled with shakes, massages and beach time.

I left at 430 and took a way overpriced cab to the pier to catch the boat to Surat Thani. I knew I had to stay the night and then catch a 6 am bus to Krabi to catch a 12 o clock flight.. Damn it!!

But, this place has been quite the experience. They dropped 6 of us travellers (only ones not Thai on the boat) to the "bus terminal". Basically, it was a concrete room with a map and schedule on the wall. We all thought it was a scam. I went up the street to a tuk tuk driver and he assured me it was the bus place. Then a Thai lady took me by the arm to the 'best hotel'. 400 Baht for tv and AC and huge ass room...

Then I strolled to the food market.. only white person or tourist around and ate chicken on a stick and the best thai noodles I've had yet (out of paper wrap)

I've relaxed in the hotel.. and getting up early.. so maybe going to Krabi wasn't sooo bad...

NIk

Advertisement



Tot: 0.117s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0773s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb