Road to Railay


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Railay
August 6th 2007
Published: September 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hat Ton Sai, RailayHat Ton Sai, RailayHat Ton Sai, Railay

The smallest beach on the Railay Peninsula. Very undeveloped, just a a couple of guesthouses on the beach, mainly for the rockclimbers who frequent the area.

Shinoukville


After my adventure up to the Bakor National Park I headed onwards around the southern coast of Cambodia to the beach town of Shinokville, my last stop before heading back to Phnom Phen and onto Thailand. Not much to do here other than chill on the beach during the day and at the beach bars during the night. This was a welcomed contrast, since up until now I'd been keeping myself pretty busy visting places and being touristy, so I was glad to do nothing for a couple of days.

Coined as becoming Cambodia's own Ko Pha-Ngan Shinoukville was a good place to go out in the evening, plenty of young travellers around and a not yet too built up and resort-like. Would of liked to have spent a day or two longer here, but I needed to get the bike back to Phnom Phen, so off I went.

Phnom Phen to Ao Nang


A bus from Phnom Phen took 14 hours to get back to Bangkok via the route I'd come in, yes, that means back along this pot hole hell of a road from Siem Reap to the boarder. The journey was made slightly more bearable as
Bar on Hat Ton SaiBar on Hat Ton SaiBar on Hat Ton Sai

This bar on Hat Ton Sai was awesome, constructed completely from drift wood and bits of old long boat. Great chill out place.
I had some company from two girls who I had met in Shinoukville a couple of days earlier, doing the same journey on their way back to England. I also made friends with two lads and two girls with whom I passed time playing some pretty random games. Anyway, I mention the names of the two girls; Izzy and Amy, as they feature later on....

Arrived into Bangkok, spent a night and a day there before getting the overnight bus down to Ao Nang in the Lower Southern Gulf of Thailand. I arrived in Ao Nang with Mirijam, a swiss girl i'd met on the buss who was coming to the end of a year of travelling. As keen on saving the pennies as me, we shared accommodation for the next two nights in Ao Nang before I headed to Railay (a purely plutonic, money saving arrangement, before any of you start jumping to conclusions).

Railay


Railay on the Western coast of the Southern Peninsula is made up of four beaches, Hat Ton Sai, Railay West, Railay East and Hat Pra Nang. I stayed two nights on Hat Ton Sai, a small, beautiful and unspoilt beach mainly for
Bar on Hat Ton Sai 2Bar on Hat Ton Sai 2Bar on Hat Ton Sai 2

Inside the bar
rock climbers, providing cheap digs. From here I was able to get to the other beaches by foot, Pra Nang being the nicest. The night before leaving Railay and heading back onto Ko Phi Phi I bumped into the two girls; Amy and Izzy who I'd met on the bus from Cambodia to Bangkok, very random.

Next Stop - Ko Phi Phi


I met up with Mirijam again and together we travelled to Ko Phi Phi. On the way we met up with a couple of lads; Andy and Simon, on their year out and we arranged some accommoation with them. Ko Phi Phi is a beautiful island with some nice beaches, it is however, very built up and has an especially touristy feel about it.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Bar on Hat Ton Sai 3Bar on Hat Ton Sai 3
Bar on Hat Ton Sai 3

Never did figure out why this guy kept blowing into this piece of bamboo......very perculiar
Foot MassageFoot Massage
Foot Massage

Foot massage on Railay west. Man, this is one brave woman!!
Pra Nang, RailayPra Nang, Railay
Pra Nang, Railay

The nicest of the four beaches on Railay.
Me and MirijamMe and Mirijam
Me and Mirijam

My travelling companion for a week and a half, what a legend!
Boat to Ko Phi PhiBoat to Ko Phi Phi
Boat to Ko Phi Phi

Hardly the most intimate affair... a sign of what was to come...
Student at workStudent at work
Student at work

This was quite funny, this guy was learning Chinese from this kid.


Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0508s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb