Phuket and other islands


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Phuket
July 2nd 2012
Published: July 2nd 2012
Edit Blog Post

Phi Phi Leh island - June 2012Phi Phi Leh island - June 2012Phi Phi Leh island - June 2012

This is one of the seven islands I visited on the 4-day trip to Thailand.
One year has passed since I visited Mongolia, but I still remember every happy moment of the trip. Perhaps I had fallen in love with this country even before I made the trip. Time flies so fast, it was time for another overseas trip. I was considering two destinations which were Jakarta and Phuket. I prefer nature to big cities, so I decided to visit Phuket. Another reason was that I had never been to southern Thailand. One month before the trip I booked my air tickets on Air Asia budget airlines. My round trip air tickets Hanoi – Bangkok – Phuket cost US$420. I traveled to Phuket for 4 days from June 25 to June 28.

The night before my flight to Bangkok was a nightmare. Suddenly I had toothache which was caused by root inflammation. It was so painful that I couldn’t sleep. There was no way to see my dentist as it was night time and I had to leave for the airport early morning next day. I finally got into the plane and flew to Bangkok then connected my flight to Phuket. When I arrived at Phuket international airport, it was 4pm. I decided to go
Boats at Phi Phi Don islandBoats at Phi Phi Don islandBoats at Phi Phi Don island

Tourists have lunch on this island and the view of Ton Sai bay is so beautiful.
to Patong beach town instead of Phuket town, although I knew it was more expensive to stay in Patong.

I got out of the mini bus at Bangla road and walked around the area to find a dental clinic, but coulnd’t find any. I asked a tuk tuk driver and he took me to a dental clinic. It was 7pm and the clinic was going to close. The dentist who is a Thai girl checked out my tooth and said she would fix the problem, however it was urgent treatment and I would need further treatment when I got back to Hanoi. It was interesting to see how different the dental treatment between Vietnam and Thailand was. The Thai dentist covered my face with a piece of cloth which had a hole over my mouth. She and her four female assistants (five Thai girls in total) were chatting in their language while I was lying on the dental chair and opening my mouth. After one and a half hours the work finished and I had to pay 3,300 baht (US$110). I know it was expensive but I was still lucky as she agreed to help me. I have made
James Bond island in Phang Nga bayJames Bond island in Phang Nga bayJames Bond island in Phang Nga bay

This is one of the happy moments on my birthday this year, as I've been to one of the famous sites in Thailand. (Đây là một trong những khoảnh khắc hạnh phúc trong ngày sinh nhật của tôi năm nay. Tôi đã đến thăm một trong những địa danh nổi tiếng của Thái Lan).
more than 80 trips in my life so far and for the first time I had to visit a doctor on my travel. The girls also took me to a good guest house next door, 500 baht (US$17) for a room per night, so I was relieved to have my tooth problem fixed and a good place to stay for a couple of nights.

Next day I traveled on a tour to Phang Nga bay and visited Panak, Hong and James Bond islands. The canoeing at Panak and Hong island areas was interesting and tourists got through beautiful caves. I met a group of young Vietnamese from Sai Gon and they also traveled on their own same like me. However, they traveled by bus to Phuket from Bangkok and it was a long journey. They said they did the tour to Phi Phi island the day before and it was not interesting as they chose to go by big boat. It took them two hours to get to Phi Phi Don island where they had lunch then another two hours to go back, and also the boat was not comfortable. When I heard these comments, I knew what I
View of Ton Sai bay from Phi Phi Don islandView of Ton Sai bay from Phi Phi Don islandView of Ton Sai bay from Phi Phi Don island

I finished lunch on the island and waited to go back to the boat. Then I would move on to Khai island.
should do. I would go by speed boat as it can get into small bays and beaches.

I like James Bond island but it was so noisy over there because of the motorized long tail boats and there were too many tourists. Even though it’s now the low season, there are so many tourists and in a small place like a lagoon of Hong island you feel like a crowded swimming pool as it’s full of red canoes. A Thai man told me that many Aussies and Arabians come to Phuket at this time of the year. I cannot imagine how Phuket will be like during the high season. The locals told me that during the high season the island tours have to be booked a couple of days in advance and some tourists have to sleep on the massage chairs as there are no more rooms for them.

I planned to treat myself a nice dinner for my birthday but ended up having a simple bowl of noodle soup with seafood. I didn’t feel I wanted to eat much and instead of enjoying the food I spent hours walking along Bangla road and the night market. There
Hong island areaHong island areaHong island area

I love the rock at this place. It's so beautiful.
are many bars and pole dancers on Bangla road, plus colorful lighting and music so it was fun.

Phi Phi island tour was another amazing experience. It is bumpy to go by speed boat, so it’s not recommended for pregnant women and children, but it’s faster and takes only half time in comparison with big boat. There are 3 islands on the tour which are Phi Phi Leh, Phi Phi Don and Khai islands. The sea water is so clear that you can see the rocks on the bottom of the sea as well as small fishes. This is a perfect place for anyone who loves snorkeling.

My impression on the trip is not only beautiful natural landscape but also the Thai tour guide on the Phi Phi island tour. He is a lady boy and also the funniest tour guide I’ve met on travel. His name is Miss Gina or Sexy Gina. He/she has a great sense of humor and makes everyone laugh. I presented him/her a small souvenir of Vietnam and he/she was happy to receive it.

I expected to see more countryside landscape on Phuket but the island is so developed that there are
Tiger bar - the biggest bar on Bangla roadTiger bar - the biggest bar on Bangla roadTiger bar - the biggest bar on Bangla road

I think this is the most impressive bar on Bangla road with great decorations of a big cave and tigers.
lots of cars and houses along the main north – south road. It is pity that I didn’t have enough time to see the Fantasea show and watch sunset at the southernmost point of Phuket. This is my 9th visit to Thailand over the past 11 years. Some Thai people asked me why I came to their country so many times. I said I had to stop over in Bangkok serveral times on the way to other countries, so I took the chance to see some sites. I also celebrated two of my birthdays in Thailand (4 years ago in Sukhothai and this year in Phuket). Next time if I go back to Thailand, I would like to see Krabi.

Travel tips: Mini bus from Phuket airport to Patong 150 baht, taxi 650 baht. During the low season, guest houses and tour prices are half cheaper. Remember to check out exchange rates and tour prices before you book as they are different. I paid 1400 baht (US$46) for the tour to James Bond island to the first agent I met, while other tourists paid only 900 baht (US$30) or 1000 baht (US$33). During the high season, a 500 baht
Me at Hong island areaMe at Hong island areaMe at Hong island area

I am sitting on a canoe. The Thai boat rower stopped here for a few minutes so that tourists could take photos.
room (US$17) can be 1,200 baht (US$40) and a tour can be 2,800 baht (US$93). A couple of tourists told me they rented a motorbike for a day and it cost only 200 baht (US$7) but this price is for the low season.

Other blogs about my trips to Thailand:

My birthday in Sukhothai

Bangkok - Authaya - Kanchanaburi

Damnern Saduak Floating Market

Phuket – Ngày 25/6 đến 28/6/2012

Một năm đã trôi qua kể từ chuyến đi Mông Cổ, nhưng tôi vẫn nhớ như in từng phút giây hạnh phúc mà tôi đã trải qua ở đất nước này. Có lẽ tôi đã yêu Mông Cổ ngay từ trước khi tôi đặt chân đến đó. Thời gian trôi qua thật nhanh và đã đến lúc tôi thực hiện một chuyến đi nước ngoài khác. Tôi cân nhắc giữa hai điểm đến là Jakarta và Phuket. Tôi thích thiên nhiên hơn các thành phố lớn, nên tôi quyết định chọn Phuket. Một lý do nữa là tôi chưa bao giờ đến miền nam Thái Lan. Một tháng trước chuyến đi, tôi đặt vé máy bay của Hàng không giá rẻ Air Asia. Giá vé máy bay khứ hồi Hanoi – Bangkok – Phuket là
Pileh bay - Phi Phi Leh islandPileh bay - Phi Phi Leh islandPileh bay - Phi Phi Leh island

The sea water is so clear that we can see the rocks at the bottom.
420 US$ (với điều kiện là hành lý xách tay) và chuyến đi của tôi kéo dài 4 ngày.

Đêm trước chuyến đi của tôi quả thực là ác mộng. Đột nhiên, tôi bị viêm chân răng và đau đến mức không thể ngủ được. Lúc này là nửa đêm nên tôi không thể đến bác sỹ nha khoa được và sáng sớm hôm sau thì tôi phải ra sân bay để bay đi Bangkok. Cuối cùng thì tôi cũng vẫn lên máy bay, bay sang Bangkok, chuyển sang cửa nội địa để bay đi Phuket. Khi máy bay đến gần Phuket, từ trên máy bay nhìn xuống thấy những hòn đảo nhỏ. Tôi có cảm giác như mình đang bay ở trên Vịnh Hạ Long vậy. Khi tôi đến sân bay quốc tế Phuket thì đã là 4 giờ chiều. Mất một tiếng đồng hồ chờ gom đủ khách đi xe mini bus, rồi lại mất thêm một tiếng nữa để đi về phía nam của đảo Phuket. Tôi chọn đên thành phố biển Patong thay vì đến thành phố Phuket. Ở Patong có đầy đủ tiện nghi cho khách du lịch, nhưng tất nhiên là giá cả
Fishes at a restaurant in Patong townFishes at a restaurant in Patong townFishes at a restaurant in Patong town

There are many restaurants near Bangla road and fishes are sold to serve tourists.
ở đây cũng đắt hơn rất nhiều.

Xe buýt thả tôi ở đường Bangla và tôi đi tìm phòng khám răng, nhưng sau khi đi một hồi thì tôi chỉ nhìn thấy các hiệu thuốc. Tôi thuê một chiếc xe tuk tuk và anh lái xe chở tôi đến một phòng khám răng nhỏ. Lúc này là 7 giờ tối và phòng khám chuẩn bị đóng cửa. Bác sỹ nha khoa là một cô gái người Thái và các trợ lý của cô cũng toàn là nữ. Bác sỹ kiểm tra răng của tôi sau khi chụp phim X-quang và nói là cô sẽ chữa răng cho tôi, nhưng đây chỉ là điều trị khẩn cấp và đỡ được 80%, sau đó thì tôi sẽ phải điều trị tiếp sau khi về đến Hà Nội. Thật thú vị khi trải nghiệm sự khác biệt giữa việc chữa răng ở Việt Nam và Thái Lan. Cô nha sỹ đặt một mảnh vải lên trên mặt tôi và miếng vải này có một lỗ trống ở phần miệng. Cô nha sỹ và các trợ lý nói chuyện với nhau bằng tiếng Thái, trong khi tôi nằm trên ghế và há miệng
A Thai boat rower at Hong island areaA Thai boat rower at Hong island areaA Thai boat rower at Hong island area

The boat rowers wear red shirts as their uniforms.
trong suốt khoảng thời gian điều trị. Sau một tiếng rưỡi, công việc kết thúc và tôi phải trả 3.300 baht (tức là 110 US$). Tôi biết là đắt, nhưng dù sao thì tôi vẫn còn may mắn vì cô nha sỹ đã đồng ý giúp đỡ tôi. Cho đến nay, tôi đã có hơn 80 chuyến đi trong và ngoài nước, nhưng đây là lần đầu tiên tôi phải đi bác sỹ trong lúc đang đi du lịch. Các cô gái người Thái cũng rất tốt. Họ dẫn tôi đến một nhà nghỉ ở ngay cạnh phòng khám. Một phòng ở đây có giá 500 baht (17 US$) với đầy đủ tiện nghi, kể cả két sắt, vì vậy nên tôi yên tâm vì đã chữa xong răng và có một nơi để nghỉ ngơi trong hai đêm, vì đêm cuối cùng thì tôi sẽ ở sân bay.

Ngày hôm sau, tôi đặt tour đi thăm vịnh Phang Nga và đến thăm 3 hòn đảo là Panak, Hong và James Bond (nơi quay bộ phim Điệp viên 007). Khi đến đảo Panak và đảo Hong, du khách phải chuyển sang đi thuyền cano bằng cao su do người
The rock at Khai islandThe rock at Khai islandThe rock at Khai island

Khai island is the last destination on the one day tour to Ko Phi Phi.
Thái chèo thuyền. Giống như ở Vịnh Hạ Long, thuyền cũng đi qua các hang động để đến các thung. Trong tour tôi đi ngày hôm nay có một nhóm 12 bạn trẻ người Việt đến từ Sài Gòn. Họ không bay đến Phuket mà đi bằng xe ô tô từ Bangkok mất hơn 10 giờ đồng hồ. Họ cũng tự đi du lịch giống như tôi. Các bạn chia sẻ kinh nghiệm là tour đi đảo Phi Phi không hay, vì họ chọn đi bằng loại tàu lớn mà có thể chứa hàng trăm khách. Tàu này đi rất chậm, 2 tiếng đồng hồ mới đến được đảo Phi Phi Don, ăn trưa xong rồi lại 2 tiếng đồng hồ nữa để đi về. Hơn nữa, ngồi trên tàu này cũng không thoải mái vì bên trong khoang rất lạnh nên phải ra bên ngoài thì lại nắng. Khi tôi nghe những ý kiến này, tôi quyết định sẽ đi bằng tàu cao tốc, vì loại tàu này chạy nhanh hơn và có thể ghé vào các vịnh nhỏ và các bãi biển. Giá tiền tour giữa hai loại tàu này chênh nhau đến mấy trăm baht.
Making banana pancake (Bánh chuối)Making banana pancake (Bánh chuối)Making banana pancake (Bánh chuối)

On a street in Patong town.

Khi tôi đến đảo James Bond, ở đây rất đông khách du lịch và rất ồn ào vì tiếng động cơ của những chiếc xuồng dài dùng để chở khách. Mặc dù hiện giờ là mùa thấp điểm, nhưng chỗ nào cũng nhiều khách du lịch. Ngay cả bên trong một nơi bé nhỏ như đảo Hong, các thuyền cano đi san sát nhau có cảm giác đông đúc như là bể bơi công cộng. Một người Thái nói với tôi là vào thời gian này có nhiều khách người Úc và người Ả rập. Tôi không thể hình dung được vào mùa cao điểm thì ở đây sẽ còn đông đến mức như thế nào. Mấy người Thái nói với tôi là phải đặt tour thăm đảo trước hai ngày và vì không có chỗ ngủ nên khách du lịch chấp nhận ngủ trên những chiếc ghế mát xa.

Tôi dự định có một bữa tối đặc biệt cho ngày sinh nhật của mình, nhưng cuối cùng lại chỉ ăn một tô mì hải sản. Tôi không có cảm giác muốn ăn nhiều mà thay vì ăn uống thì tôi dành hàng giờ đồng hồ để đi dạo
Khao Ping KanKhao Ping KanKhao Ping Kan

Special shape of rock.
trên đường Bangla và chợ đêm. Có rất nhiều các quán bar và vũ nữ múa cột trên đường Bangla, cùng với ánh đèn màu và âm nhạc nên khu phố đi bộ này thu hút rất nhiều khách du lịch.

Đảo Phi Phi là một điểm đến thú vị khác. Khi đi bằng tàu cao tốc thì rất xóc, nên phụ nữ mang thai và trẻ em không nên đi bằng tàu này. Có 3 đảo trong tour này là đảo Phi Phi Leh, Phi Phi Don và Khai. Các vịnh ở đây cũng tuyệt đẹp. Nước biển có màu xanh ngọc bích và trong đến mức có thể nhìn thấy cả đá ở dưới đáy biển và những con cá nhỏ nhiều màu sắc đang bơi lượn. Đây là nơi lý tưởng cho những ai thích bơi lặn.

Ấn tượng của tôi trong chuyến đi này không chỉ là phong cảnh thiên nhiên tuyệt đẹp mà còn là cậu hướng dẫn viên người Thái trong tour đi thăm đảo Phi Phi. Cậu hướng dẫn viên là đàn ông nhưng thích thành nữ giới (lady boy) và cũng là hướng dẫn viên hài hước nhất mà tôi đã gặp trong khi đi du lich. Cậu có duyên nói chuyện và làm cho tất cả mọi người phải cười và cảm thấy vui vẻ. Tên của cậu là Miss Gina hay Sexy Gina. Tôi tặng cho cậu một vật kỷ niệm của Việt Nam và cậu cũng rất thích món quà nhỏ này.

Tôi kỳ vọng nhìn thấy phong cảnh làng quê và nhiều màu xanh ở trên đảo Phuket, nhưng hòn đảo này đã quá phát triển. Dọc theo trục đường bắc – nam của đảo là nhà cửa và xe cộ. Những đoạn đường đèo ở đây mặc dù rất ngắn nhưng cao và dốc. Theo tôi hiểu thì các bãi biển ở Phuket không đẹp bằng bãi biển ở các hòn đảo khác và Phuket là nơi xuất phát cho các tour đi thăm các đảo khác, ví dụ như vịnh Phang Nga ở phía đông bắc, hay quần đảo Phi Phi ở phía đông nam. Tiếc là tôi không có thêm thời gian để xem show trình diễn Fantasea vào lúc 8 giờ rưỡi tối và ngắm hoàng hôn ở điểm cực nam của đảo Phuket.

Đây là lần thứ 9 tôi đến Thái Lan trong vòng 11 năm qua. Một số người Thái hỏi tôi tại sao lại đến Thái Lan nhiều như vậy. Tôi nói là tôi transit ở Bangkok trên đường đến các nước khác, nên tôi tranh thủ đi thăm vài nơi. Tôi cũng đã kỷ niệm hai ngày sinh nhật của mình ở Thái Lan, 4 năm trước là ở Sukhothai phía bắc Thái Lan và năm nay là ở Phuket miền nam Thái Lan. Lần sau, nếu quay trở lại Thái Lan, tôi muốn đến thăm Krabi.

Ghi chú: Bạn có thể dễ dàng đi du lịch Phuket mà không cần book tour từ Việt Nam. Vé máy bay hiện giờ là 420 US$ khứ hồi Hà Nội – BKK - Phuket, đắt hơn cùng kỳ năm ngoái là 80 US$. Mini bus từ sân bay Phuket đến Patong là 150 baht (5 US$), taxi 650 baht. Nên đi vào mùa thấp điểm vì giá phòng và giá tour đều giảm một nửa. Phòng 500 baht vào mùa thấp điểm có giá 1.200 baht vào mùa cao điểm. Nên kiểm tra tỷ giá và giá tour ở câc đại lý vì luôn khác nhau.
A tuk tuk in Patong town, Phuket islandA tuk tuk in Patong town, Phuket islandA tuk tuk in Patong town, Phuket island

I just arrived in the town and asked a tuk tuk driver to take me to a dental clinic for urgent treatment of my sore tooth. Tuk tuks here are bigger than in Bangkok.
Tôi trả 1.400 baht (46 US$) cho tour đi đảo James Bond tại đại lý đầu tiên mà tôi gặp, trong khi các khách du lịch khác chỉ trả 900 baht (30 US$) hoặc 1.000 baht (33 US$). Vào mùa cao điểm giá tour này là 2.800 baht (93 US$). Thuê xe máy đi quanh đảo Phuket khá rẻ, chỉ mất 200 baht (7 US$) trong mùa thấp điểm. Tự đi thì rẻ hơn theo tour từ Việt Nam.

Các bài viết khác về Thailand:

My birthday in Sukhothai

Bangkok - Authaya - Kanchanaburi

Damnern Saduak Floating Market


Additional photos below
Photos: 65, Displayed: 37


Advertisement

Monkey beach - Phi Phi Don islandMonkey beach - Phi Phi Don island
Monkey beach - Phi Phi Don island

The monkeys are wild animals so tourists are advised not to come close to them. Insurance is not covered for monkey bite.
A big tree with root in water A big tree with root in water
A big tree with root in water

One of the two big trees which have roots in water at Panak island area.


2nd July 2012
Hong island area

Phuket and other islands
Thanks for another interesting blog. Bad luck to get tooth ache while travelling. I like the photos, as usual.
2nd July 2012

Happy Belated Birthday
Wishing you a belated happy birthday. I hope you had a great day & many happy returns :) What an experience to have to find a dentist at a foreign place. I remember my new tooth filling came out while I was camping in the jungle & had to withstand the pain & to eat using one side of the teeth (so that no food get stuck). My dentist patched it back without additional charge as I was very angry with him. I am happy to hear every thing was OK with you after the visiti to dentist.
3rd July 2012

Hi RedRiver,
So impressed birthday in Thai with beautiful scenes.Redriver! You're on the move and backed Hanoi safe and sound at last.
9th October 2012

Phuket and other islands
great post and so much information. If you are visiting phuket must consult with lot of things to do Phuket business & other islands. I hope you will have a great time in Phuket

Tot: 0.133s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 14; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0811s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb