Life in Naiharn


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Phuket
October 10th 2011
Published: October 26th 2011
Edit Blog Post

The lookoutThe lookoutThe lookout

Our first night my friend Austin (guy in the middle) from TN took us to the top of the lookout by the hotel.
Imagine 35 grown kids, staying at the All Seasons on Naiharn Beach, going to class everyday hungover cramming to put the pieces together of how to be a foreign language teacher in a 3 week course. We found ourselves in the hotel lobby many nights with colored pencils and a Chang beer drawing pictures of fish and writing simple sentences like "Fish swim in groups." Sounds simple enough but my OCD kicked in and I was crumbling paper after paper thinking "ahhh this sentence looks ugly" or "my stick figure doesnt look right."
Every day we broke for lunch we were all craving the amazing $2 noodles or shrimp curry at Coconut Cafe which overlooked Naiharn Beach. I always found myself staring at the beach thinkin whyyyy do I have to be in class right now! Our class was in the conference room which had a glass wall. Everytime you took a look out the door you had a 50/50% chance of seeing a middle-aged Russian man walk by with a speedo, goggles, and a fedorah on.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Big CBig C
Big C

First trip to Big C (Thailand's Walmart). I was overly excited.. I bought peanut butter, bread, and water. Survival food!
Flooded roomFlooded room
Flooded room

It started pouring down while in class.. I found my room like this on our 15 minute break. Thankfully, the house cleaning put our bags up.. only floating sandals when i opened the door.
no..no..
no..

not sure abt this one. I'm guessing Russian.


Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0428s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb