Quick career change


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Phuket
June 7th 2006
Published: June 7th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Dear fans,

I returned to Phuket just a week ago & it's good to be back with the friends that I made a couple of months ago. I started work in a govenment school on Monday morning & was almost ready to quit Monday night. It's so full on! I'm teaching English there 4 days a week to ages 7 to 11. The noise levels are perforating my ear-drums and my voice is disappearing. Tuesday was much better. I just have to keep their attention for a solid 60 minutes at a time & let them know who's boss. Methodical humiliation & embarrassment seem to do the trick.

There is an edge of futility to it all, as most of them act like a bunch of parrots so that when I ask them a question they all systematically repeat the question back to me. Banging my head on the blackboard has helped enormously & drinking beer after work (maybe during would help too). When all else fails I just pull a funny face & make them laugh. They are very cute kids (well most of them).

I also teach a private lesson to four children on a Saturday which is far more rewarding. I actually feel like they've learned something by the end of the lesson. That could be self-delusion though.

Anyway, thanks to one of my chums, I went for an "audition" today for a BBC film that is being made here. It's about the Tsunami & I think that it's going to be called "Aftermath". It's so lucky that this has fallen on my day off & I'm getting paid too! I return next week for the filming of a scene at an Embassy garden party. I was clearly spotted for my natural talent of holding a glass of champers. But best of all today was that I saw Tim Roth! I hope that I see him again next week and want to have some intelligent conversation/question ready to wow him with......I know.....I only have 6 days to come up with something! Any suggestions would be welcome. It could be a little travel-blog quiz.....the prize being free accomodation in Phuket, not of your choice of course.

Gotta go now & get my beauty sleep cos the camera never lies. I'm taking my own Vaseline though.

Ciao fans, x

Advertisement



7th June 2006

sounds great - in the movies at last eh! Busy at work so cant stop bye cxx
7th June 2006

Thanks for the blog updates, Debbie. It's almost like being there... Now what will you wear to the Oscars when they begin to appreciate your natural thesp talent? All this Asia talk has got me busy and I've booked a flight for India in November - can't stand another whole Brit winter! Horatio says hello. Geography isn't his strong point so he automatically assumes that you are near every disaster that comes on the news and keeps ringing me to find out if I've "heard anything yet". I'd better not mention the tsunami film or he'll be having kittens.

Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.04s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb