Another country has let me in!


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Southeast » Ho Chi Minh City
May 27th 2006
Published: June 1st 2006
Edit Blog Post

HCMC Art GalleryHCMC Art GalleryHCMC Art Gallery

The courtyard of this beautiful French building
Dear readers,

I'm moving that fast now I can barely remember where I am. I left Cambodia 2 days ago & cruised into Vietnam courtesy of the Mekong river.

Once off the boat & on terra firma in Chau Doc we had the usual fun & games with the "taxi" or "cyclo" drivers. We arrive, having done our homework & therefore armed with the necessary to know which budget accommodation we want to check out first. Well...forget that! Once we are on/in their vehicle they blatantly ignore or request & take us to a hotel that will reward them with wonga for depositing us there. This type of gentle scam is something that we're familiar with now, & I understand their reasons for doing this, but after a tiring, sweaty day travelling it does wear a bit thin. However as keeping face is everything to them, I try to curb my annoyance....well, kind of.

Anyway we had a whirlwind tour in a cyclo that evening. On one stretch of road we were bombarded by tiny flying bugs that got in my eyes, mouth & lip-gloss (yes, I'd made a bit of an effort for once). The upshot was
A shop in Can ThoA shop in Can ThoA shop in Can Tho

Not sure what it's selling though - is that marketable?
that we would move on the next day to Can Tho which is further along the Mekong Delta and a bigger town.

On arrival there we attracted a stalker who insisted on dragging us to alternative guesthouses & as she dragged me across the road by my arm she bestowed kisses on it as well (the arm not the road). I shook her off quick, or thought I had. When we emerged from a different guesthouse later & headed down the end of the road to the riverside, she popped up again & now tried to flog us a boat-tour; you can't say that she's not versatile!

We did take a boat tour which was fab. My mate Amanda & I had a boat to ourselves with 3 guys attending to our needs (steering the boat & serving us breakfast). It was an early start to see the floating market where trading takes place between different river boats. It's quite a hive of activity & the boats are not only the workplace for many but their home as well.

Our next move was to catch the afternoon bus to Ho Chi Minh city (formerly Saigon). Our previous Cambodian mini-bus had been very clean & comfortable, unfortunately we were now clearly travelling with a different company! The bus had extra passengers in the form of cockroaches. The driver of the bus drove like a complete suicidal idiot. I had to stop looking out of the front of the bus as I couldn't believe my eyes & for someone that never gets travel sickness, I was starting to feel a little quesy.

Our first day in HCMC was spent at the Art Gallery, and at the Jade Emperor Pagoda. It was the first time that I've seen a Chinese temple and it's quite different. The insence was quite overwhelming and outside there was a pool full of terrapins. We did get a cyclo (one guy pedalling with 2 of us in the back - the poor guy struggled to go faster than walking speed!)

I have to admit that the rest of our time here was spent relaxing and partying at night. Found this great bar (Go2) and at midnight you just go upstairs for a boogie. I also would like to recommend the Vietnamese rum which is only $1 a bottle - bargain! Our last night was spent with fellow travellers that we'd previously met in Thailand & Cambodia.

Next stop is Thailand and teaching as of 05/06/06! It will kind of like going home as I know the town & some of my fellow students & teachers that I know are there 😊

How will I cope after many weeks of hedonism? Any suggestions, let me know...

Deb x




Advertisement



1st June 2006

all sounds great - I was going to ask when the teaching would start - if at all ! Poppy off to vet this morning for another jab. They thimk its mites, they wormed her and gavesome more drops which are better than the doc martin ones we used. I think its flu jab today - cant wait to hear Johns voice when they ask for the money!!! speak soon carolx

Tot: 0.111s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0701s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb