Intro


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Phuket
September 16th 2009
Published: September 16th 2009
Edit Blog Post

So I have been getting a lot of the same Q & A, which I'm goinna answer them all here. I love this blog! Here we go...

School to teach English started about less then 2 wks ago. I'm actually staying at teh school where others have opted to stay at a near by hotel for a little bit more cash. I have the same as them but no AC. I'm OK w/that just BK I'm only in my room at night and I have my own personal fan! I know I'm special...Yup Yup!!!!!!!!! So staying at the school which allows me to use this computer until I can figure out what's wrong with my computer.
I'm in this busy town called, Phuket Town. It's not fukit town but rather pronounced poo-cet town. It's busy as all hell. it takes longer to cross the street then buying a beer at a 7-11 which are worse then Starbuks on every corner. A lot of the students rented motorbikes including me and only 2 have wrecked not including me. Phew! Sometimes it's just easier to walk then ride.
The lessons are crazy and FAST!!!! We're observed each time we teach. Strange enough that I'm OK to teach in front of strangers but to stand up in class in front of my peers just makes me cry, LITERALLY! But that has stopped, PHEW! We start at 930 sharp with breaks every hour. The fruit man comes at 1030 and beeps his horn from his moped with side box attached. He carries fruit I have seen and have not heard of. i stick with the watermelon which costs all of .10 cents. It's easier and cheaper for me to just pay the .10 everyday. Watch out for the pineapple, very acidic!!!!! Made me dizzy, hot, and nauseated. No more of that!!!!!
Lunch is at 1230 for an hour. If we teach that night then we're here. if not, then the night is free. We teach for 45min at a time with a peer and an observer. SCARY!!!!!!!!!!!!! It's especially scary when I only have about 4 students and I hear a lot crickets in the back ground especially when they're just starters! They never say much. I hate quietness! Teachings here occur from 430 - 800. There are 4 classes at every level. It' all free for the Thai's. if the Thai's improve their
Wachalong Templ eWachalong Templ eWachalong Templ e

Look similar/ It's all the same til the next diff pic
English then they improve their employment status, period.
Which they make more green. After 800 then we're free til 930 the next morning. We dont work wknds unless we have homework which is an essay, a "game" to teach English in a fun way, a CV, find a Thai I dont know, assess their skills, and give them a lesson and couple of more things. I feel like I'm an over achiever. My rough draft for the CV is complete. My game has been started I found a Thai to teach to, and the essay will just have to wait to the end, of course.
Fellow students are making the best of their time here. This wknd they're going to visit the islands and I'm going to Malaysia for a visa run to extend my passport for another 30 days. There's a new dropzone for skydiving opening up in Bangkok VERY soon. I'll prob be there next wknd. All these places I have to fly. As of the first wknd of Oct is completely scary and open for that I have not found a job yet but on the hunt!
When class is over for the day we usually go workout at the gym, get dinner, go back to their hotel where they're staying which is about 5 min away and just chill. Homework has just been starting to be an issue and be proud BK that has been my priority outside of TB and FB!!!!! Been discovering new places and places near me. It's been a blast and the people are amazing regardless of where they're from! The food is delicious from Vietmanese to Thai to wanna be American and British and completely CHEAP!!! I prob pay 1.00 for lunch. I eat ceraeal in the morning and for dinner we're out but still less then 2.00 for diner, not including yummy and cheap Chang Bia.
That's pretty much it. This wknd is Malaysia, next might be Bangkok or the week after pending on if I get a job. jumping NEEDs to be a priority very soon, Hence Bangkok the following wknd. I need to book it now but I dont know if the DZ is ready. I hate waiting!
Here are some pics. Enjoy and I miss all and love love the comments that are coming in!! Thank you so much for your comments. It makes me feel like I'm still in the Tucky!

Luv Luv
N



Additional photos below
Photos: 37, Displayed: 25


Advertisement

Lilly PAdsLilly PAds
Lilly PAds

These are just for you, SuzyQ!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
They're amazingThey're amazing
They're amazing

Long tail boats. Wait there's more!!!
Lady BoyLady Boy
Lady Boy

Which one had has an operation? This was the only guy not surrounded by Thai girls. Maybe he stunk...
Crabs anyone?Crabs anyone?
Crabs anyone?

There are a gazillion wholes in the ground with 10 times more the gazillion little balls they roll up and eat all the nutrients out of til the sea washes them away and start again the next day. WOW!!! Busy workers!! And they run faster then me!


16th September 2009

paradise indeed
Looks like you are having the time of your life! Definitely the time to be busy busy! Be chill and mellow back in the states! Take in all you can while you are there! Then share it all with us! :) hehe! Miss you babe! Be Safe!
16th September 2009

oyoyoyo
Thx for the continual comments! I love them. Ur like one of the first people to respond and always looking for you! Take care! How are ur classes this semester?
16th September 2009

Better!
See now THIS blog was much more informative versus the poop/toilet one! ALthough I know not to expect anything less from you! lol Miss and love you!!
16th September 2009

I'm so proud of you!
yeah, being observed makes me sweaty and blotchy! I can teach all day with finesse, if it's my students,but throw "observers" in the mix and I'm nuts! Sure do miss you. It's funny how I read the blogs in your voice! If you're still there in April or June, I'm commin!
17th September 2009

Love it!
I'm glad school is going well. Keep up with the hw!!!!! Miss ya...hugs and Kisses!
17th September 2009

miss you!
It looks like an awesome experience. It makes me want to jump on the next plane and join you!
18th September 2009

Damn...that's a crazy town. I think that's where Bruce was too. Things are cool here. Just did some landscapingin the front yard. I'll send you some pics. Btw Gracie Barra won best of Ventura for martial arts schools. Fabio is so proud. Miss you! Rich
25th September 2009

Phun!
It looks beautiful there - soak it up! Thanks for your email a while back - you've been on my mind and I'm glad you're safe, not having to use those toilets extensively. Can't wait to hear about skydiving adventures. Love you! Cat
30th September 2009

I misssss Thailand!!!
Wow CP, beautifulll pics! Been there many years ago and now I have seen these pics I want to go AGAIN!!! Beautiful country, nice people and good atmosphere everywhere. Have FUN! X

Tot: 0.122s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0558s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb