A lot a head and way behind


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Phuket
September 1st 2009
Published: September 5th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Two days into one entry. Maybe it'll be a long one but prob not. The pics are far more interseting than my bad grammar writing. Here we GO!
Two days ago I decided to a bit more adventurous and go south for the day. It takes about 15 min of serious steep hills to get to the beach, Patong. On my way out of town almost to the bridge I have to stop to the Evacuation sign, it's a man climbing up. Funny! I have read of stories of how the Thai have moved far from the ocean since that day. I dont blame them. Thousands of people died on this island alone, not counting the other areas. So, next tsunami start slimbing up.
At this bridge there are a bunch of colorful fishing boats, there long like gondolas but with long propellar motors and without the singing Italian. I'm sure if the price was right they can be used for island day trips plus more. But why so colorful? It's one of my favorite pics so far. Passing them took me into the deep windy steep roads. I kept seeing this huge beautiful beach but it was all resort orientated
Where to?Where to?Where to?

Seriously/ Anyone going up?
and didnt want to pay. I keep going and WOW! there's literally a whole in the wall at far end. I must stop. As passsing thru the whole I pass this enormous tree, Banon maybe but it has this ribbon all wrapped around it for some reason that's still unknown to me. Here i can see Patong, the famous hotel that got hit by the tsunami, white sands and more trees then I can count. It's completely empty except for a couple Europeans, me, the fisherman who's wearing speedos, and Bubba. I like it!
Me and Bubba had a hard time communicating. Didnt talk much and i think I scarred him, a little. It happens to me all the time. Meet someone and they run away. I know I'm scary!!! I asked him not to go but obviously he had better things to do. I dont know like dig a hole or find something to eat. I didnt even get an invite, sheesh!
Time to move on to the next place. I see a sign for Paradise Beach Cove and I'm in. Still trying to figure everything out I sit and order rice and something. Food here is CHEAP! Average
The Boats The Boats The Boats

Where the fresh water meets the salt.
price for food is about a buck or 2. Beer is way more then food, interesting. I can pay up to 3 bucks for a beer and may pay a buck for a yummy meal. Anyway, I get to this private beach and they have vball with plenty of players. I wanted to play but just still a little nervous and I didnt have my knee brace with me either. I have a journey ahead of me and cant afford to hurt myself on a vball game. I know, WUSS! Chilled here for a bit and it's getting a bit dark and have to leave before turning into a pumpkin. Plus these steep hills would scare you too on a scooter... I think I can...I think I can!! And before leaving I must go to the toilet. SWEET!!! Another one to add to the list!!! Check it. You step on it and aim well!!!!!! I love foreign toilets!!! Cant wait to frame them all. There's a lot too!!!
I didnt go out. I barely made it 9p.m. I passed out reading about what I was going tomorrow. I got it!! Cant wait...

Yesterday, it was amazing! The best, scariest, intersting, generous day ever!!! I decided to go north this time passing Kamala and up! More steep windy hills to be scarred of. It"s not just the hills but the other traffic and weather to consider. It freakin rains a lot here and the streets are always wet!! Slippery when wet is always in my head and stay to the left. There's been a few times that I forgot and decided driving on the right is correct til I hear horns and flashing lihgt, damn it!!! Passing Kamala was very nice but wasnt just right, not yet. The ocean is rough during the off seasons and I want to chill and cant so far plus I'm starving. Lunch on the beach , anyone? Done!! I stop at another meals on wheels but it's Thai style with instant Udon noodles. I like it so far. Pick and choose. Red is spicy. Clear is not. I'll take a red and some rice for about $1.25. I find Layan National Park and a tree. Holyy canolly, red is SUPER spicy. Cant eat it. I ate the rice with s scoop of sauce on it and still spicy...Note to self...red is bad! The sea is still too much so move on again. When I was there i saw this cool island and wanted to see more and this is where it gets cool.
I get back to the main road and a personal tour from a guy that overheard me talking made sure I made it there with a few lefts, lots of construction, and a military guard blocking me at first then realizing i just wanted the beach and let me pass. This is about 200pm I say. I get out there. Park my bike and start walking. If I scream, I will not be heard, scary. I just keep moving. No one knows I'm here on there end and on mine. Scary again. I find some rocks to chill out on, write in my journal, and just listen. Not bad. It's super rocky so just dipped myself in the amazingly refreshing water! Keeping it simple. I get tired and doze off on the rock til the bugs woke and told me it was time.
The island taht I so wanted to see was the sa,e as the story book, Where The Wild Things Are. I'm just waiting for them to pop out the island. Seriously it ws just right amount of trees mixed with palm trees.
I get back to the main part of the beach where I can be heard. All the workers are ending their day and see me, a foreiner. As walking by all of them I see 3 Thai women. They were plucking the grey hairs out. Interesting. I said hello and then it was a vomit of questions there after. I sat and we did some Q & A. it was truely a lot of fun. Chillin with these ladies that ranged from 32 to about 50 was a riot. Communicating was hilarious. The only one that spoke English thought if she repeats herself many times rapidly that I would understand her better, huh! The oldest one was the curious one. The youngest next to me was just listening. They couldnt understand why i was traveling alone and i couldnt really explain to them. We just nodded a lot!
Time to go again. They warned me that it was better that I go when they do because there were a lot of men here. Done! Told them I was hungry and oldest lady had a meals on wheels shack to take me to. I'm talking corregated tin shack with woven sheets of leaves imbetween tin. Dirty, cats, dogs, who knows what else but their kindness to takes me and meet their family. I overtook all that nonsense. Their house is attached to the shack and open 7 days a week. Everybody in this neighborhood comes here. I never saw money pass with the locals. Everybody takes care of everybody. Kids come here and have their after school snack. The neighbors come to say hello and eat. Muslims walk by selling goods of sort. People on scooters with goods attached drive by. crazyness! I loved it! plus being in this area means I got to see parts that most westeners would never see, the rubber tree farms, the pineapples growing under them, or even the way people just live on so little. Totally interesting!
After lunch is over I drop my passenger at the beach Surin and plop on a big rock writing down the days events and noticed that it was getting dark and I have some steep hills to battle. As climbing these hills I feel as if I'm missing something and need to stop but that's like turning around on the Conejo Grade. It just doesnt happen til the U turn is made possibe. All the way up and all the way down. I fianlly pick a high class restaurant to stop at and next to it I see I soft red light. I'm going that way. it's a tiny bar on top of this cliff looming over the oean. It's a Rastafarian Bar. I'm cracking up as I'm thinking of Bruce who knows I'm not the biggest fan of Bob Marley. I think they had his greatest hits CD playing. Bob and I are on new terms. Now I hear Bob and it takes me back to this amazing day of adventure! Chillin on top of the world with Bob. The ocean below my feet, and a rastafarian Thai man talking to me. Really, I get to finish my day out like this? Really? I make it back safely. I can barely keep my eyes open as I'm planning tomorrows adventure. I am getting the hang of this as I fall sleep at about 830pm.


Lots O Words but more pics to follow. The Cafe's power kept shutting down so I left.

Missing everyone!


Advertisement



5th September 2009

Amazing
Love the pictures, and love the fact you are having a great time. The rasta bar, I believe I've been there. Great view of the ocean. Missing you. -Mike
5th September 2009

Is that a 7-11 in the background?! Glad you're alive and well. Miss you mucho. It's super hard not having my girls around to shoot the shit or throw back a cold one. Sounds like you're having some amazing adventures. I went to Duke's last night and then the beach this morning. No tsunami warnings, so it's life as usual. Love you!
6th September 2009

YEah that's a 7-11 there everywhere!!! Worse then Starbucks!!!! Missing you too! It's traveling by myself. No one to laugh with but school starts Monday and things will be change! Luv Luv
6th September 2009

OMG i'm living this through you....this is great!
6th September 2009

hooray
Now THAT's the right way to hear Bob! Miss you lots but I'm so excited for you. You are so brave! Remember that red is bad! If you like your taste-buds, that is. Love you lots. XOXO Justine
7th September 2009

I love reading this cuz I can hear your voice while doing so!!! Sounds like quite an adventure already! Be safe!! Luv Luv girl!!!!!!!!
8th September 2009

Can't wait to see all the toilet pictures! Traveling alone is crazy right?! It opens you up to be spontaneous and you are forced to meet new people. Your mind wanders in a strange direction after a while too...it's pretty cool
8th September 2009

red is really bad :o)
Glad to see you are taking in the chow :o) Sights are even better later on, keep going soon you will get it and the language will flow, then the fun really starts!!! Be safe in the mind and fun will surely follow!!!
8th September 2009

Awesome!
So cool! You are making it really easy to be right there with you! :) Be safe!!
9th September 2009

So cool!
You're awesome:)
9th September 2009

HEY YOUUUUUUUU!!!
You are getting some truly great shots and experiences. Consider me inSPIRED +1!!! xo
12th September 2009

bob
Glad to hear you and bob are back on speaking terms... Was it rcs that broke you two up? lol. Be safe!
14th September 2009

visuals!
I love picturing you doing some of the things you talk about. I cracked up when you said you and the women did a lot of nodding - I can totally picture it! :) Take care chica!!!

Tot: 0.115s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 47; dbt: 0.057s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb