Sunshine Bar Shennanigans


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Phuket
April 19th 2009
Published: April 25th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hello everyone

Sorry its been so long between blogs.. been keeping myself super busy in Phuket and trying to find the time to write! Sooo I last left you arriving in Phuket exhausted and sick! Friday night was a quiet one and I didn't set an alarm Saturday morning. It was time for a sleep-in. Rejuvenate the soul! After rising I headed out to get some breakfast. About a 1 minute walk from the Mercure I discovered a great little cafe called Oasis. They had really really great Fruit shakes and Western Food as well as a Thai menu. I had a yummy Omlette and toast and my favourite shake - Pineapple n Lime. Afterwards I went for a wander around the OTop Markets. I called in and saw my favourite DVD man Johnny as well as a tailor to see about getting a dress made for Noks wedding. I was a little undecided so decided to think about it overnight...

After some internet and shopping I headed back to the Hotel and decided it was time to laze by the pool for a while... the only time I managed to get off my sunbed was when I jumped in the pool to cool off and swim the 5 meters to the swim up pool bar for a Mango Margarita! So yummy... afterwards I decided I needed some sun as the buildings around the pool had started to cover most of the pool area with shade. I went up to the 6th floor where my room is located and found the Moon Bar.. a gorgeous little area with a tiny pool, some sunbeds and a bar on the rooftop... absolutely NO shade and perfect for what I wanted!

BBQ & Sunshine Bar



After having had enough sun I headed back to my room to get ready for a night out at the Sunshine Bar with a group of travel friends. Richard from Phuket organises a night where people get picked up from there hotels, driven down near Rawai Beach for an all-you-can-eat BBQ then you go to the Sunshine Bar for drinks before being driven home. The transport is about 200 baht per person (maybe 150) and the BBQ is about 175 baht. It is usually held on a Friday night but due to staff being away still for Songkran celebrations, this week it was a Saturday and the BBQ was held at a different place than normal... so cost slightly more... but the food was amazing and worth every cent (think we paid 250 baht for all you can eat!).

Richard picked me up before doing the rounds and getting some of the others. In total there would have been about 30-40 people all up. It was great to meet people that I had chatted to online on Trip Advisor while organising our holidays and after dinner we all headed to the Sunshine Bar. I absolutely LOVE this place.. having discovered it on my first trip. The night went way too quickly. Alot of people went up the pole in the middle of the bar, but I was NOT one of them! Still a pole virgin!!

After the night finished I headed to Bangla Road to kick on with Dan & Shan (Gold Coast), Kane (Adelaide) and another couple from Ireland whose names have come up a complete blank at the moment.... Oops! We ended up at the Tiger Bar (a set of small 'girly' bars about halfway down Bangla). Kane tried his hand at trying to beat the bar girls at Connect 4 while Dan, Shan and I kept ourselves completely occupied with a bar lady boy who kept flashing her tits at us and then making us buy her 'shots'. One ploy that the bar girls and ladyboys have is to get you to buy them a drink, but so they dont get blind drunk usually it will be a tequila shot.... or actually really water!! The bar makes money off the girls and they dont get legless! All in good fun (at 170 baht per shot)... our photos are fantastic though! LOL

Kane disappeared at some point during the night so Dan, Shan and I headed home about 2am! Sunday morning was another sleep-in for me (and no hangover due to me taking the alcohol really easy the night before).. I headed down to OTop Markets and visited the tailor. Finally settled on a material, price and design then I headed to Oasis again and had chicken/chips... SO good! The chicken was deep fried breast pieces that were like KFC flavour, and I ended up swapping my chips for a friend potato dish (with bacon onion and cheese!!).

Another afternoon lazing by the pool was in order after my big feed, so I headed back to the hotel. I went straight to the rooftop pool and was dismayed to discover two things... 1) that there were 3 loud Irish boys up there already and 2) there were rain clouds off in the distance :-(

Just as I lay down on my sunbed it started spitting rain so I jumped in the pool after hiding my stuff under the sunbed. About 15 minutes later the downpour started and we all ran for cover. I later became known as the rain fairy to the boys.... everytime I appeared at the pool it would start to rain! LOL ... Once the rain had stopped I headed to OTop markets again to do some shopping, grabbed a yummy Crispy Pork and Basil leaves over Rice and headed back to the room for dinner in bed with the tv as my company! Love it!! I had a pretty early night as the next morning I was due to go on a sailing trip with Captain Mark....

Anyway thats all for this blog. That rounds up my first few days relaxing in Phuket... next blog will be my day with Capt Mark and a night on the town with new friends Tammy & Mark (Brisbane)

Love to all
Reet xxxx




Additional photos below
Photos: 27, Displayed: 25


Advertisement

Kane decides to finally join us.. gee his toilet breaks were long... Kane decides to finally join us.. gee his toilet breaks were long...
Kane decides to finally join us.. gee his toilet breaks were long...

I think he might have been getting distracted along the way!


25th April 2009

Hi Reet, your stories and photo's are fantastic, I'm glad your ok now, sounded real scary.....keep enjoying yourself and thanks for the updates I love them.....Rene xxxx
26th April 2009

Lots of memories in this one!
Hi Reet I haven't commented much but have been reading and really enjoying all your blog entries. What fantastic reminders they will be for you as well. Loved this entry as it brought back so many fun memories for me, also reminded me of when we were at lunch in the hilltop restaurant at Merlin Beach and the rain came down. We have had 2 days of lots of rain in Adelaide so that has been great. What amazes me though is after all these weeks of so much food and alcohol, you still look just as slim - lucky you!!!! Catch up soon. Lesley xxx

Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0341s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb