Sailing Boats, Rock Bands & Relaxation.... Phuket Rocks!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Phuket
April 21st 2009
Published: April 26th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Monday morning dawned and I was up bright and early ready for a big day out sailing with Capt Mark . Mark is an ex-pat Aussie originally from Western Australia who know lives in Phuket. His tour is much raved about on the travel forums online so it was a must do on my list. I was the last person to be picked up from my hotel and discovered there would be 9 of us on the tour that day. We were driving to Ao Po Pier where we were transported to the sailing yacht via a tiny little dingy. It was hilarious! So small and me trying to get out of it into the boat with my backpack was a sight to be seen!

I met the other people that were to be on the tour.. there was Peter and Louise (Melbourne), Andy, Karen, Krista, Daniel and Jayden (Perth), Kane and myself from Adelaide. Kane was the same guy that I had been out with on the Saturday night. Pure coincidence that we were booked on the same tours both days!

As we set off to our destination we were served fruits and little thai dessert/cakes and deep fried chicken pieces... very yummy... It took us a couple of hours to reach the area we would explore for the day and it had been windy enough on the way out to put the sails up. Not long before we arrived at our first spot, I realised that my arm was very HOT.. and sure enough.. my right arm was completely burnt to a crisp... not a good start to a day in the sun! LOL ... We spent the morning exploring some 'hongs' and caves around one main island. I was so proud of myself with the first cave, as I am not good in caves and thought I might freak out... but I went all the way through! To get to some of the Hongs we had to wade through water sometimes thigh deep... it was a really cool adventure. On the way back to the boat at one stop Capt Mark showed me how to drive the dingy (do you drive dingys?!) and I took us all the way over to a beach! I was super impressed with myself! LOL

Lunch was on a deserted beach and just as we started eating we watched the weather change really quickly and a rain storm passed through. We didnt get too wet and were able to shelter alongside the cliff face. The lunch was fantastic! After lunch we explored another cave and then sailed on home. It was a huge day and I was so sunburnt by the time we got home! The wind and the sun can be decieving!

The group that I toured with were fantastic. My favourite was the youngest boy Jayden from WA ... he was a cheeky little bugger with a heart of gold. I bribed him early on to be my slave for the day for 20 baht! He did everything I told him to!! So funny. On the way home Jayden lost one of his teeth so I doubled his rate and gave him a whole 40 baht when we said goodbye. He was hilarious. He was saying "Oh I meant $20" and I was like "sure you did!!!" and then he goes in a really sarcastic 11yo voice "Thanks for the 40 baht... I GUESS" - I completely lost it and fell about laughing! Thanks.. I guess! What is that!!! It might be worth less than $2AUD but hey... a deal is a deal right! LOL

Once back at the hotel I had a shower and freshened up before heading out to meet Tammy and Mark (Qld) for a drink (all my favourite people live in Qld these days). Tammy and I met online on Trip Advisor and kept in contact leading up to our trips. I met them at their hotel. Mark was so hilarious. They too had been out on a boat trip all day and drinking. Mark was BLIND! Made for some funny conversations and great photos... he does a mean air guitar!! LOL

We had a couple of drinks at their hotel then headed up Bangla Road for some dinner. On the way I found a guy selling squid jerky so I bought some to try and took some photos (just for you Chelle). It really doesnt taste so bad.. just like beef jerky only fishy!! Tammy and Mark took me to one of their favourite Italian restaurant.. think it may have been called De Marcos. It was pretty nice but I would discover an even better one later in the week!! After dinner we headed to a bar that had a live band on. I cant remember the name of the bar, but the band (and esp the female lead singer) was AWESOME. The female singer did the best version of Sweet Child O Mine. WOW! Mark got up and did his impressive air guitar!! DOUBLE WOW!!

From there we headed to Margaritas where more live bands were playing. By this stage both Tammy and I were exhausted (yep Mark was still kicking on) so weheaded home dragging Mark reluctantly behind! It was home to bed for me...

The next day was another sleep in for me and an easy day followed... breakfast at Oasis again, some more shopping at OTop (the bags were beginning to get full) and I went for the first fitting of my dress for the wedding.. so far so good... stay tuned on that one though! lol!

About dinner time I went for a foot massage and pedicure. I was a little frustrated as I wanted a 2 hour package...pedicure followed by foot massage.... unfortunately they wouldn't listen and proceeded to do both at once.. I tried to explain it several times and they just did the typical Thai "yes yes" nodding their heads and proceeded to do what I didnt want... one girl on one foot massaging, another on the other scrubbing dead skin! Not very relaxing!! I had my toenails painted green with gold glitter... it kind of matches my dress for the wedding.. then I went for a walk up Beach Road for the first time all week.

Reluctant to shop on beach road, I gave in desperate for a new singlet (since I have been wearing the same 3 black ones ALL holiday.. have you noticed in the photos?!) - I found a really nice Ed Hardy singlet that I wanted but the sales lady wouldnt budge off 1200 baht for 3! She did the walk away from me! Meh! I will get it another time! I then found Roma's. Roma's is a great little Italian restaurant that my friend Chelle recommended to me (boy you are doing alright Chelle.. two mentions in one blog!!). She was spot on. I got a Penne Puttanesca (sauce of the whores.. appropriate apparently ;-)) and garlic bread takeaway... and headed home to do the eat in bed thing again (I love it!). They had wrapped it all in alfoil in the bags so it was still piping hot when I made it back.. 15 minutes later.. and it was SO good!

Anyway that is enough raving on about nothing! Not alot more to go with Phuket but will save it for another blog... I have just arrived in Bangkok to head home tonight and had the flight from hell... but that can wait for another blog too!! Hope all is well at home.. not long now until I get home thank god! What a trip!

Love to all
Reet xx


Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement



26th April 2009

a girl who keeps her promises!! :)
well babes you have kept all your promises... a dedicated cocktail and a pic of the squid jerky taste test!! :) ohhh and Roma's how good is it... def cures the cravings for non thai food... some of the best italian I have ever had!! you bring the memories of phuket flooding back... how I love it!!xx

Tot: 0.283s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 22; qc: 121; dbt: 0.1492s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.5mb