Thailand!!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Phuket
June 20th 2007
Published: June 20th 2007
Edit Blog Post

HELLO been a long while since I have updated everyone on what I've been up to so here it is!

After we were released from Raleigh we were let loose in K.K a small city but one that sold alcohol. Basically imagine a lot of English/Irish and european's let loose after 3 months of not being aloud to drink...

After the four days I flew into Kuala Lumpur the capital of Malaysia. Unfortunatley I must have eaten something wrong and stayed in bed throwing up for 3 days. Luckily wherever I end up I have to come back to KL to get back to England so I will see it better then.

Luckily I managed to get better for my flight to Phuket Thailand the next day. Phuket is an island just off of Thailand. It is much like Malaysia but much much more touristy. The first day we spent relaxing and swimming on a beautiful beach and tropical water. Followed by an interesting night out with a cross dressing Thai singer.

Today we went out for a big English breakfast and then headed off to RIDE AN ELEPHANT. After being chased by one I wasn't quite sure of this idea but it was absolutley amazing. You get to trekk around for an hour, ride on its back, its head, and just see everything from the point of view of an elephant!

Had a few more beach days on all different but amazing beaches with incredibly waves which I spent all day body surfing in. Phucket is a really amazing place visually but it is very touristy.

I then went from one beautiful beach to another taking a boat trip from Phucket to Phi Phi island. Again absolutley stunning! Our resort was literally RIGHT on the beach!

Here we lazed around on the beach, ate really good food served by one of the most obvious lady boys I have ever seen and had to run away laughing on more than one occasion. Had a few late nights including one half moon party which was a blast!

One of my best days was when we got a local to take us about the island on his long boat. We went snorkeling and saw more fish than I could have ever imagined, they were literally bumping into me. He also took us to this beach which is famous from the movie "the beach" I havent seen it yet but the beach itself is absolute paradise! There was also this very odd island inhabitted by monkeys? One guy I was with jumped out of the boat and was enjoying the monkeys jumping all over him until the big one got protective and attacked him...very funny

Interesting note that Phi Phi was hit very hard by the Tsnumai so there were evacuation routes left right and centre, but in any case they kept telling us that the entire Island had been devastated by this wave so bit of paranoia.

Once again I went from one amazing island beach to another as we made our way to Krabbi. More precisley Tonsai beach. Tonsai had some amazing scenory and was very very chilled out, off the beaten track, little tourists, and amazing rock climbing. Unfortunatley nowhere on the island had my foot size so I didnt get a good go at it which sucked but enjoyed the beach, food and very cool pirate ship bars.

After chilling out on Krabbi guess what?? we went to another amazing beach. Ko Phangan (full moon party) We stayed at a place called rainbow bungalows and the food alone was a reason to stay there! Going 3 months on Raleigh rations and afterwards rice and noodles to have a chicken AND bacon sandwich with milkshakes was just phenomenal.

As for the full moon party. The beach where the full moon is was great, it had bars running down the side which sold these buckets of alcohol and red bull..not the red bull that we get in Canada thats for sure these really get you going! Inbetween bars there are clubs playing loud music but most people head to one end of the beach and dance around. We arrived there 4 days before hand and we went to all the build ups to the actual full moon party I thought were a good laugh as everyone from Raleigh was there was good to see them after a few weeks of everyone going their own way. When the full moon party actually came around I was a bit tired from the previous 4 nights of partying but had to do it and it was completley different! Before hand there was a good size crowd, but full moon party itself was absolutley packed with people!!!!!!! Incredible atmosphere. Managed to get home around 8 the next morning.

My last stop in Thailand was in Bangkok. Spent 4 days here which I thought was really too much. It's incredibly dirty and hectic but got to enjoy the nightlife a bit and see the shopping malls and fit in a Thai boxing match which was very very brutal and the crowd loved it. Puts regular boxing to shame really.



Advertisement



21st June 2007

dmurph
what a pimp...you rode on an elephants head!!!!

Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0458s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb