Adventure phase


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Sabah » Mount Kinabalu
May 7th 2007
Published: May 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hey everyone.

Thanks for sending me all the messages and letting me know whats going on back home.

As for my 3rd phase it went amazing. First we went trekking for 5 days in the jungle. Really enjoyed it. Found it really awesome to set up my own hammock every night, and just living on the bare neccessities. Was definatley difficult at times, we did one 8 hour trekk in rain which sucked but after you finish it there is a huge sense of achievement. We had an amazing trekking guide called Nooh. He is known as king of the jungle. What was really amazing was when he went out to catch dinner. He managed to shoot a gibbon...A VERY RARE INDANGERED MONKEY WHICH YOU ARE LUCKY TO EVEN SEE IN THE DISTANCE EVEN IF YOU LIVE IN THE JUNGLE FOR A MONTH. Anyways he managed to shoot one out of a 40 foot tree and bring it home to camp for dinner one night. In the end I was a bit dissapointed that I didnt get a group with a 9 or 11 day trek but not complaining. We also went to some really cool waterfalls and had showers in them, and to a bat cave.

Another thing about Nooh and malaysians is that they believe in "spirits of the jungle" and Nooh has an agreement with the spirits taht if the tree that he planted continues to grow the spirits will protect Nooh's jungle. Well Nooh didnt join our trekk until the 3rd day. Before that one of my friends hurt his knee really bad, and couldn't walk on it at all. Nooh believed that this was because he wasn't with us when he hurt his knee and the spirits where just doing their job of protecting the jungle. So he gave him this potion which knocked him out instantly, he woke up, then Nooh gave him his bracelet which was passed on to him from his father which simbolized strength and determination. Amazingly enough the next day his knee was 100% better

After our trek we went to the dive island to do scuba diving. I absolutley loved scuba diving! I passed my PADI open water. After 5 days of trekking and living on the same Raleigh ratiosn of food for the last 3 months (pourage for breakfast, crackers and tuna for lunch, and curry for dinner...every day .....) it was amazing to have a cafe there! ate way too much but couldn't help it.

After dive islands we spent 4 days at the crocker range. This was something only our trekking group got to do and honestly it was a bit of a filler. We were building a waterfall swimming pool, and the path to get there. But this was like the environmental phase I did earlier all over again and would have much rather trekked for longer. Only fun part was this place had a tv to watch chelsea liverpool game and united game which they lost only making me even unhappeir to be here. Oh I also enjoyed chopping down 30 foot trees with a parang (large knife/sword) to make the path

Now I am back at changeover and its only a couple of days until I'm on my own to travel as I please. I have friends who have similar plans as me and we're really just seeing where we end up. I have delayed my flight from KK to KL for 4 days. Hoping to meet up with Raleigh people at a few bars, go back to Manatani Island (where I was first phase) and see the completed library, stay over at a few malaysian participants friends houses for a night, and maybe fit in the orangatan sancutary.

Anyways thats all the time I have now, will be able to get more internet access and phones now that Im traveling on my own plans



Advertisement



8th May 2007

You can come home now .....
....... Canucks lost ....'nuff said. Can't believe your time with Raleigh is up, good luck with your travel plans from now on .... "see it, do it, live it." Richmond, school, work will wait for you...... Hugs, <3 Mum XoXoXoXoXo ;G)
12th May 2007

exactly!!
Your mom is exactly right, everything back home can wait. Enjoy yourself...travel and see new places and faces. Stay safe and have fun!!
25th May 2007

Hiyah :)
How was the "Full Moon Party"? Do I really want to know ?? LOL. David's in Strathcona (on the Island) he's open-water kayaking! you two sure get around! Look forward to your next blog, people are asking where you are! Phone soon!! Enjoy life, Love, Mum, Dad and Tazzers xoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxo

Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0257s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb