The Holidays


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Phuket
January 1st 2007
Published: January 11th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Christmas in LuxuryChristmas in LuxuryChristmas in Luxury

My Oh so nice hotel room. That's right, I didn't get out of that cheesy bathrobe for 2 days!
My Christmas holidays, although different, were something to be remembered. After a 16 hour bus ride from Mae Hong Son to Bangkok, I checked into a beautiful 4 star hotel to see what it was like to live in luxury for a couple of days. So, I spent Christmas laying in a big comfy bed watching TV, and lounging pool side. Despite the absence of family, friends, cold weather and Turkey, it was a great Christmas, and given the circumstances I wouldn't have spent it any other way. A big thanks to my family for putting me up in that nice hotel by the way.

I didn't seem to get enough of the bus, so on boxing day, I hopped on the bus for a 12 hour ride down to Phuket for some much needed sun and a happening place to spend New Years. I definitely picked the right spot! Phuket is still clearly cleaning up after the Tsunami, and I must admit, its a bit un-nerving seeing Tsunami evacuation zone signs all over the place. I met some amazing Aussies from Melbourne and brought in the New Year with them. It was beautiful down on the beach for New
New Years EveNew Years EveNew Years Eve

A small glimpse into the craziness on Patong Beach, Phuket over New Years.
Years. Between the lanterns and the fireworks, the sky was glowing. Downtown Patong beach was glowing for other reasons... Bar upon bar upon bar. There was far too much to set your eyes on, and more often than not, I couldn't believe WHAT I was seeing! That whole saying, "Anything goes in Thailand", really hits home in Phuket.

After a huge night, and not a wink of sleep, a dazily hopped onto the bus at 6am to drag my but to Ranong, as my visa expired on the first and I had to do a day trip into Burma, to avoid turning into a pumpkin. If Thailand is a different world, Burma is a different universe! It was only across the river, yet the poverty and feel of militia government was very prevalent. Although I had a day pass to the country, I got my butt right back onto that boat, and headed back to the land of smiles.

While in Ranong, I met a couple of Canadians (one from Nelson and one from Tofino), both travelling seperately, but both going to this thing called a rainbow gathering. They talked me into joining them, and you'll have to
Burma...Burma...Burma...

The first thing I saw coming into Burma. I think "Welcome to Burma!" might have been a nicer touch...
wait until my next entry to get the scoop on this "Survivor - hippy style" type festival...

Advertisement



11th January 2007

Happy New Year
Hi Shauna - I've been enviously reading of your adventures abroad....I am so proud of you for doing all of this travelling alone. It must be scary sometimes. I just got back from a week in Los cabos Mexico and now itching for adventure...maybe I should take some lessons from you and quit my job and hop on a plane! Take care - Jane

Tot: 0.298s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 17; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0623s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb