The drainer came to stay


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Krabi
March 5th 2007
Published: August 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Rach (‘the drainer’), a really good friend of mine from University came to visit me and Lara as we traveled around the beautiful beaches of Krabi in the South of Thailand. We thought it’d be best to let Rach tell you about our adventures but lets just say it was an eventful couple of weeks…..

- RACH 'Well…I met up with the drainers in Phuket, although at this point I’d never met Lara so really I should say I met the Drain and is girlfriend Lara.

It was very good to see them after a long draining flight…however they immediately put me on the back of motorbike with no helmet! And whisked me off to the hotel. It wasn’t until we went out for dinner that night that I noticed how well Tom spoke the Thai language, he was uncharacteristically modest and told me he still had lots to learn. It was obvious we hadn’t spent much time together recently as within a few days the cracks in his modesty were starting to show and the cheeky Tom came out.

Krabi (grab-ee) was our first stop, and my first taste of backpacker Thailand but I surprised myself with
how quickly I settled in and adapted. We stayed here for about 3 days and rented a kayak, laid on the beach and swam to cool down. It was quite relaxing, but there was more to come!

Next stop Ko Lanta and the first placed we stayed at was the fisherman’s Cottage. This is the best resort in the world! When I say resort it sounds large and plush but it wasn’t! The resort consisted of about 10 bungalows, a bar and a dinning area. The best bit about the place was the tables in the trees over looking the sea, this is the most chilled out I have ever been! There was barely anyone on the beach, Tom was in bed feeling unwell and so Lara and I just read, soaked up the sun and took the occasional dip in the sea. Bliss!

We found another resort further south in Ko Lanta called Klong Jark resort. We found this resort one day when we hired some motorbikes, I rode with Tom on his bike and on more than one occasion I thought we weren’t going to make it up the steep hills - it was so bad sometimes that I got off the bike to walk instead. The beach at the new resort was much nicer but Lara and I missed the tranquility of the Fisherman’s Cottage.

By now we’d had six days in the Ko Lanta sunshine so we moved inland to Kho Sok. Here we stayed in the jungle it was very beautiful (suay) and full of weird and wonderful creatures. We spent our last day in Khao Lak, it was my last chance to catch the Thai sun setting and where we parted ways. I caught a bus down to Phuket to catch my flight home and Tom & Lara were traveling up to Bangkok. I was sad to be leaving them both as they have made me feel very welcome on their trip so much so I think they wanted me to carry on with them! Lol.

Enjoy the rest of your trip guys, I wish you well and I look forward to reading more blog entries as you travel.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

The hottest motorbike journey ever!The hottest motorbike journey ever!
The hottest motorbike journey ever!

The road was so dodgy Rach decided to get off and walk!
Fishermans cottageFishermans cottage
Fishermans cottage

You'll struggle to find a more tranquil, chilled out place than this
the chefthe chef
the chef

Rach cooked up some tasty Thai food in her cooking course


Tot: 0.148s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0777s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb