Koh Tao....ok?!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Tao
November 22nd 2009
Published: November 22nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

After the scariest boat journey of my life we arrive on Koh Tao and it looks like absolute heaven compared to the hedonism of Koh Pha-Ngan. We were on a fairly small ferry and the waves were huge and at times it did feel as though we were going to go over the edge. People were being sick into bags all around us and everyone had a slight look of fear that said 'maybe I won't get off this boat alive'?! But we did and as we got closer to the island the waves got smaller and it became a little more bearable.

A jeep from our hotel picked us up and off we were going to the Coral Grand Resort....not quite as grand as the name would suggest as you get the accomodation included for your 8000 baht which puts you in the D block! It is pretty basic but clean and comfortable. The biggest problem being the cold shower which would be blissful in high season but when it's damp outside the last thing you want when you get in is a cold shower. Anyway we are told that we will start in the classroom the following morning at 10am so head off for a mooch down to the beach and some dinner. The views of the sunset on the beach were absolutely amazing...will try to put some pictures up here soon. We take a cushion at the Windy Beach Bar and enjoy a glass (or a carafe!) of wine and some lovely Thai food. After we head down to the Fishbowl Bar which I really recommend...there was a live musician and it had a really great vibe. Get chatting to two great guys from the UK, Scott and John and end up partying with them for the rest of the night. We end up at Lotus Bar which is a cool location right in the middle of the beach and one of the only good late night places. You can dance and drink on the beach until the early hours. Loving Koh Tao so far as it is so much more chilled out than Koh Pha-Ngan and that really suits us!

The academics of the PADI diving course goes well for me....I feel that I'm getting to grips with it and am not really worried at all about getting in the pool next day, but as it turns out I really should have been. Just a note now that what happened to me is no real reflection of Coral Grand...it's more about me, but I really struggled in the pool. It was going ok until we had to let water into our masks and blow them out to clear them. Now I really hate getting water in my eyes but stupidly thought I could get over it for the purpose of diving, turns out I can't! Although I feel our instructor didn't really help me, it's more my problem than his. I'm sure his 'no bullshit, angry approach' works on some people...it did on Caz, but I need something a bit gentler so by the end of the pool session I had decided to forget the money and walk away from the diving. It was meant to be fun, but at no point during that session did it feel remotely fun and I am not into torturing myself. Incidently out of 6 of us that started together only 3 finished so maybe that speaks volumes?!

So I find myself with a few days to myself...more difficult to fill first day due to the rain, but the second day is happily spent lying on the beach, reading and topping up my tan....happy days! In the evenings Caz and I find a beautiful resort called Rim Lae at the end of the beach and take to chilling out in their bar with a glass of wine and a pack of cards. A great chill out time was had!

Despite the diving stuff I really liked Koh Tao...the island has a great vibe. My only piece of advice....check the weather/seasons before you pack your bags!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.047s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb