Full Moon...certainly an experience!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Pha-Ngan
November 16th 2009
Published: November 16th 2009
Edit Blog Post

12 hours later, exhausted having not really slept on the bus or boat we arrived in Koh Pha Ngan and jump in a jeep. They put your rucksack on the top of the vehicle...god knows how it stays there, but it does. I don't think I could bare to be parted from my (well Nat's!) rucksack again. Thanks for trusting me with it, and sorry that I lost it in the first place!

We arrive at Charung Bungalows where we are staying and it is pretty basic but as all the prices have been inflated for the Full Moon Party it is about all we could afford and it was still pretty pricey at 7GBP/night. We head down to the beach for lunch and a stroll about town to get the feel for the place. It is a lovely looking beach and the view out over the ocean is lush. Some lovely looking little shops and massage places too so am feeling pretty good that we are going to have a great time. At this point the weather seems pretty good...we had no idea we had arrived on the islands in monsoon season...oooops! That night, as per our style on our first night anywhere we go out and have a crazy one. Buckets, dancing and good times were had!

Next day total right off due to hangover from hell!

Then it's time for the Full Moon...wooooo! To be honest still pretty hungover from the previous night so defiantely don't get as drunk as I needed to have been to have really enjoyed the Full Moon. It is so much like a rave and that really isn't my thing. I realy wish I had been more drunk.....sorry Mum! It started out well, but by the end of the night I was ready for bed! Glad I was there to see it and say I have been but have definately have had better nights. I think in a way it is a bit like New Years as you build it up into something that it isn't and then you can only be disappointed! The trouble is all this partying does totally wreck the beach...blokes just start pising in the sea and there is rubbish everywhere. The locals do a really good job of tidying up but still it made me feel awful looking at the mess we had created on their beautiful beach.

When it comes to be time to leave Koh Pha Ngan we are definately ready to go for some more relaxing times on Koh Tao. All packed up we walk into the reception, but what's that...no boats leaving today due to the weather. Bugger! Was so looking forward to getting off Koh Pha Ngan as to be honest other than get drunk, sunbathe (which we couldn't do due to weather!) or eat there isn't a great deal to do there. We ended up sat in a bar all day watching movies and Friends and drinkng fruit shakes...still better than work I guess! I did however have an amazing foot massage which got rid of all the swelling and water retention in my ankles and made my feet look half the size they had been. God it was lush! I would have one every day if I could.

Finally the next day we got onto boat headed for Koh Tao...thanks mainly to the lady from our hotel who had said it was full, but then managed to get us onto a slower ferry, but still we were going and that was the most important thing.

Onto Koh Tao...a-woo-hoo!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0312s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb