The Islands PT2 - Koh Tao


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Tao
August 31st 2008
Published: August 31st 2008
Edit Blog Post

This is my last day in Koh Tao. I have only spent 3 days here and I must say it was enough.
Contrasting with Ko samui this island is the real paradise island you see in the travel agency flyers. It is really nice and calm and very well kept.
My stay here was much more relaxed. I just wandered around alone in a bike on the first day exploring this small island's beaches. The island is sorrounded by corals and is the number one destiny for divers in the world. I opted no to do scuba diving as I think it is still soon after my pneumothorax and if I have a relapse at dept it is certain death. So i'll leave that to my thirty's or something. However today I did the next best thing, took a tour arround the island on a boat to snorkel. It was great: swiming with sharks, coloured fish of all kinds and observing the great corals to be found here. We also had a great guide , marine biologist who showed us arround.
At night I usually go to a bar where they cook some fish on barbaque and play two movies. That's what I'm doing next...

So tomorrow I head back to Bangkok and one day later back home. I think this is my last post. I'm sorry I never really got into any details but the time to write is not much.

All in all the trip has been great and I would do it all again. The hardest part still is to say goodbye to all people you meet along the way. Even when I arrived at Ko Tao I found Laura waiting for the boat to go to Bangkok. I was happy to see her but imediately sad as soon as I understood she was leaving. Its kind of hard, and worse when its with people you know you are probably never going to see again in your life.

One thing is for sure. I will come back to Thailand. And it might be quite soon.



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



1st September 2008

A idade da aventura ...
Soube no Gerês desta tua bela aventura por terras distantes! Li todo o blog ... ou eu não fosse louca por viagens! Partilho contigo algumas impressões que me ficaram do caos de Bangkok. Mas também adorei!! E voltava!! Parabéns pelo empreendedorismo "viajeiro"!! É a idade certa para o ter... mas fizeste falta no Gerês, vê lá se para a próxima programas a viagem noutra altura, OK? E não, descansa que este ano esteve tudo muito calmo ... os cótas portaram-se mais ou menos bem (será porque eu só lá estive nos fins de semana??). Tens de fazer agora uma sessão fotográfica e não só, sim? beijinhos
5th September 2008

Great!
It looks like it has been a great trip with a wonderful ending. Coming back? Just warn me, I might just join you!

Tot: 0.044s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0202s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb